Bosch Highline Radio reboots randomly - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

 3Likes
  • 2 Post By Mister_smart_LA
  • 1 Post By Mister_smart_LA
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-08-2016, 10:22 AM Thread Starter
SCOA Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 89
Thanks: 17
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Bosch Highline Radio reboots randomly

Hi Smarties,

I didn't see this while searching, so I thought I'd ask. Ever since our cold snap (don't know how relevant that may be), my radio has randomly rebooted itself while in use. It doesn't matter if I'm parked, driving, if it's muted or unmuted. It does not do it predictably. I've yet to capture it working then rebooting on film, I always catch it immediately after it's booting. It seems to reboot mid-boot, then comes up just fine.

Has anyone seen this before? Yes, I'm under warranty...I just need to install a camera that records the radio all the time so that I can "replicate the problem" for the dealership (not my first German rodeo). It's done it at least once (up to three times) a day since Monday or Tuesday of this week. The first time it did it I was on my way to work. I have been in and out of the car a lot today, and it did it a little while ago....was listening to NPR and then nothing..look down and see the Smart logo on the screen. Kind of annoying.

OT: If you've switched to an aftermarket radio, did it connect up to the factory microphone? That's one of my big worries about switching to an aftermarket radio, that and loss of the USB port and AUX input (not that I use them often or at all).
kcfoxie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-08-2016, 10:34 AM
SCOA Club
 
Mister_smart_LA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: smart center West Covina/L.A.
Posts: 1,722
Thanks: 175
Thanked 428 Times in 302 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
That highline radio I believe is under a 1 year warranty. Try to get it addressed as quickly as possible, if possible.

If it were mine, I would try to reset it. It's been over a year since I've used one of those units, so I'm totally off memory at this point. There should be a "reset radio" selection in the settings menu that will hopefully take care of whatever is causing it to crash. Otherwise, I recommend you bring it in to your smart center quickly.
Mister_smart_LA is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Mister_smart_LA For This Useful Post:
kcfoxie (12-08-2016)
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-08-2016, 10:52 AM
 
SimTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 79
Thanks: 8
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Garage
Mine does that also on my 2013.....
SimTek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-08-2016, 11:05 AM Thread Starter
SCOA Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 89
Thanks: 17
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Thanks to all for the fast responses, I'll give the reset a try. I'm not sure what could possibly have corrupted it since I use it for two functions only: radio and Bluetooth streaming (with the occasional phone call). I've never launched the navigation on it, not even once.

Also... I meant to post this in Audio & Electronics...not the regional forum! Can a mod please move this?
kcfoxie is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-08-2016, 11:10 AM Thread Starter
SCOA Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 89
Thanks: 17
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
I see nothing in the warranty book that says the radio carries a shorter warranty than 48mo/50k miles. One of the reasons I wanted a MB product was the extremely good bumper-to-bumper warranty.
kcfoxie is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-08-2016, 12:03 PM
 
Miss Mercedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: WI-IL Border.
Posts: 15,888
Thanks: 5,470
Thanked 2,166 Times in 1,482 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcfoxie View Post
I see nothing in the warranty book that says the radio carries a shorter warranty than 48mo/50k miles. One of the reasons I wanted a MB product was the extremely good bumper-to-bumper warranty.
I had my entryline radio in my 2012 451 replaced at 2.5 years/45k miles and the dealer did it without protest. There isn't any reason to have different warranties for the two radio versions. So, if it is only a year long, I don't think the dealers are enforcing it. Have them replace it anyway.
Miss Mercedes is online now  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-08-2016, 12:46 PM
SCOA Club
 
Mister_smart_LA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: smart center West Covina/L.A.
Posts: 1,722
Thanks: 175
Thanked 428 Times in 302 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Basically, nobody enforces it. But it's there, technically.
Smart Bob and Miss Mercedes like this.
Mister_smart_LA is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-10-2016, 06:23 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 1,798
Thanks: 333
Thanked 213 Times in 183 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Mine was replaced under warranty at a little after 3 years.
jzchen is online now  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-10-2016, 12:17 PM
SCOA Club
 
Mister_smart_LA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: smart center West Covina/L.A.
Posts: 1,722
Thanks: 175
Thanked 428 Times in 302 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzchen View Post
Mine was replaced under warranty at a little after 3 years.
Yes, because... it would take a really grumpy, angry, life-hating person to have the warranty request declined. But, technically, it's there.
Miss Mercedes likes this.
Mister_smart_LA is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Smart Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



« Nationals | - »
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bosch Highline Navigation hummer Audio & Video 0 06-29-2015 06:15 PM
highline bosch radio (EU maps?) alfadelta Audio & Video 8 10-08-2013 09:58 AM
Smart Highline Radio (Bosch) screen problem andras smart General Discussion 1 04-25-2013 05:01 AM
highline bosch radio... alfadelta smart General Discussion 20 01-15-2013 03:44 PM
2011 Highline Nav system (Bosch radio) OcalaGuy Audio & Video 0 10-30-2011 12:00 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Clubs, Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.