User Tag List

2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-28-2014, 01:21 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Thumbs up Cheaper EVSE and Bluetooth tunes

I am a new ED owner. I didn't even know there was such a thing called EVSE until five days ago! After I got the car, there were a couple of things I wanted right away.

1. Faster charging than what is possible with the Level 1 EVSE supplied with the car. Plus, I wanted to keep the factory supplied EVSE just locked up in the car for emergency use while on the road.

2. Listen to the music on my iPhone via the standard car stereo without fumbling with wires to connect the phone to the AUX input every time I got in the car.

I'd like to share what I did to get those two things.

EVSE
I couldn't stomach the fact that the EVSEs are so darn expensive for just a glorified box with a relay and a simple signaling mechanism. With a little googling, I found Juicebox. I am an electrical engineer and I have done quite a bit of house wiring. So why not a DIY EVSE? I ordered a Juicebox and 25 feet of J1772 cable, drove 15 minutes to their warehouse to pick them up (how convenient :-), a little soldering and some wire hookups later, voila!, I now have a Level 2 charger that has worked well, at least for one night. My factory-supplied Level 1 charger can now stay in the tailgate for emergency use.

Not including the input cabling part, the juice box solution runs about $310 with a 25 foot cable EVSE. Still lot of money, but not so bad for a box that can actually put out about 15kW. (btw, you would need a 70amp J1772 ($$) if you want to push it beyond 7.5kW. And, anything more than 3.3kw is irrelevant for the Smart Car ED as its charger can't take more anyway.)