Smart Car of America Forum banner

Speaker problem

11K views 16 replies 13 participants last post by  NW453 
#1 ·
The driver's side speaker on my smart keeps cutting out (no left channel sound, or there is sound but it's very low - the balance is always set to the middle). It's actually out more often then on. I took it in and they said it was purely a software type problem, that all the connections were OK, so I'd have to wait for a programmatic type fix from smart.

That just seems... weird. Have any of you heard of this, or experienced speaker issues in your ED?

#4 ·
I took it in and they said it was purely a software type problem, that all the connections were OK, so I'd have to wait for a programmatic type fix from smart.
Lemme guess, smart center of Portland told you this? That's the biggest bunch of BS I've ever heard and I'm an electrical engineer so I've heard some nonsense in my day.

I have a 2015 ED. My speakers are not doing this, but then again, my speakers are not "software controlled" either. >:D

smart center of Portland couldn't find their backside in the dark using both hands. The word on the street says that MB of Wilsonville is going to become a smart center. If that happens, I will definitely make the run down there to give them a try. I've already been told by the BAP folks that I can take my ED to them for battery service under the BAP program as they're "electric certified".

#7 ·
Yeah, I have NEVER been impressed by the Portland smart center. Even the sales (well, leasing) process was a pretty rough affair. It definitely seems to me that smart is the ugly stepchild they'd love to get rid of. I think they just hooked it up to their machine, didn't see any error codes, heard it was one of the times the speaker was actually on, and didn't do much else. What I'd love to do is swap the left and right speakers as a test, but I'm not about to take the doors apart on a one year old car on a lease.