Smart Center Site Names on eBAy? - Smart Car of America Forums : Smart Car Forum
Home News Models Alternatives
 
Smart Car of America - America's Largest Smart Fortwo Enthusiast Community   Smart Fortwo, smart car, smartcar
HOME FORUMS GALLERY

Go Back   Smart Car of America Forums : Smart Car Forum > Life Beyond smart > Off-Topic Cafe


Notices

SmartCarofAmerica.com is the premier Smart Car Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
» Auto Insurance
» Supporting Partner
» Recent Threads
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2008, 12:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
BigGoofyGuy
SCOA Club
 
BigWarpGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Windsor New Jersey
Drive: Pure
Posts: 7,369
Thanks: 311
Thanked 151 Times in 124 Posts
Smart Center Site Names on eBAy?

There are some Smart Center names for sale at eBay. I think they are on the second page of the list. There are not cheap. Some prices vary from about $12,000.00 to $16,000.00. Can they sell those site names for that much? It seems wrong.


BigWarpGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 12:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
SCOA Club
 
MB DNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cruzin Carolina 3+yrs w/more SPM
Drive: Cabrio
Posts: 1,431
Thanks: 219
Thanked 267 Times in 158 Posts
Can they sell those site names for that much? - Only if someone is willing to write the check!

There are some rules that govern web name squatting but this is free enterprise at its best - what a country!

Also see: Rant: Smart Cars creating greed...
MB DNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 01:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
BigGoofyGuy
SCOA Club
 
BigWarpGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Windsor New Jersey
Drive: Pure
Posts: 7,369
Thanks: 311
Thanked 151 Times in 124 Posts
Smart Fortwo forsale on eBay

Quote:
Originally Posted by MB DNA View Post
Can they sell those site names for that much? - Only if someone is willing to write the check!

There are some rules that govern web name squatting but this is free enterprise at its best - what a country!

Also see: Rant: Smart Cars creating greed...
There are a few Fortwo for sale on eBay. One is being sold for (buy now price) of $25,000.00 for the convertible. There are others for sale there too.

BigWarpGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 01:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
curtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: GREEN BAY USA
Drive: Passion
Posts: 870
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just bought one.
curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 01:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Springlering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Atlanta
Drive: Cabrio
Posts: 270
Thanks: 3
Thanked 21 Times in 11 Posts
Squatters have sold web addresses on Ebay for ages. I used to see them all the time when I was searching my favorite category. People that had maintained a website would also tire of the website, and sell their website on Ebay.

That was when I went ahead and reserved my eponymous dot com, and then decided to have a whack at it myself. My kids laughed the day I announced I was going to build a website. They are no longer laughing. If I do say so, I rock. ;)
Springlering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 02:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Founder/former Admin.
SCOA Club
 
SMART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Drive: Passion
Posts: 3,974
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
That is ridiculous. Its funny because its not even like there is competition of sales over the car and there likely wont be for nearly 2 years.

But who knows... I mean look where www.smartcenterLA.com points. ;)

If you want to buy that one its not for sale, I will trade only for a dinner and a good picture.
SMART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 02:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
SCOA Club
 
MB DNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cruzin Carolina 3+yrs w/more SPM
Drive: Cabrio
Posts: 1,431
Thanks: 219
Thanked 267 Times in 158 Posts
IMHO, cybersquatter kemosaby is yet another opportunist who has gambled his eBay listing fees on the hope that someone would be foolish enough to write him a check for $15k+.

With smart being trademark protected, I don't know if I'd want to go up against the hired guns at MB.

Cybersquatting means registering, selling or using a domain name with the intent of profiting from the goodwill of someone else's trademark. This is a practice of buying up domain names that use the names of existing businesses with the intent to sell the names for a profit to those businesses.

If you own a trademark and find that someone is holding it hostage as a domain name until you pay a large sum for it, you may be the victim of cybersquatting.

You can either sue to get your domain name and possibly damages under a 1999 federal law known as the Anti-Cybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, or you can initiate arbitration proceedings under the authority of the Internet Corporation of Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) and win the name back without the expense and aggravation of a lawsuit.
MB DNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 09:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Founder/former Admin.
SCOA Club
 
SMART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Drive: Passion
Posts: 3,974
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
The real important factor is if a individual is making money off it. If there is no business from it... its not really cybersquating as I understand it.
SMART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 10:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
SCOA Club
 
MB DNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cruzin Carolina 3+yrs w/more SPM
Drive: Cabrio
Posts: 1,431
Thanks: 219
Thanked 267 Times in 158 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMART View Post
The real important factor is if a individual is making money off it. If there is no business from it... its not really cybersquating as I understand it.
I disagree:

By definition, cybersquatting means registering, selling or using a domain name with the intent of profiting from the goodwill of someone else's trademark. This is a practice of buying up domain names that use the names of existing businesses with the intent to sell the names for a profit to those businesses.

And in this case, cybersquatter kemosaby who has no intention of opening a smart dealership (running a business) has listed on eBay multiple web domain names that he has registered (owns) for the sole purpose of MAKING MONEY OFF IT - it being the sale to the smart franchisee who may open in that city.

At the end of the day, who cares - got my top back, sunglasses on enjoying my smart. Have a smart day!
MB DNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 11:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
BigGoofyGuy
SCOA Club
 
BigWarpGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Windsor New Jersey
Drive: Pure
Posts: 7,369
Thanks: 311
Thanked 151 Times in 124 Posts
Selling of center names?

I have heard of companies who rather sue the individual or group who registered the name and wanted a lot of money for it. They usually win. Perhaps it is the principle of the thing. I am not sure if they will get any one to buy Smart Center Trenton. They might have better luck with Smart Center Princeton; a high class sort of town.
BigWarpGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Today


This ad will not be shown if you are logged in.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Names? (Re: car naming) SMARTYPOO smart General Discussion 40 04-27-2010 04:02 PM
Car names? JanetMermaid smart General Discussion 77 05-30-2009 11:27 AM
Clever Color Names marck Off-Topic Cafe 9 06-30-2008 09:48 AM
SMART Names! Carl242 smart General Discussion 5 06-07-2008 10:05 PM
1ST Smart car on Ebay already. smartisme smart General Discussion 17 01-19-2008 12:06 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 AM.



Smart Cars of America, LLC is not affiliated with, authorized by, associated with or have any connection with G&K, Zap, Mercedes-Benz, Mercedes-Benz AMG, Mercedes-Benz McLaren Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC, smart Canada Division, DaimlerChrysler, Chrysler LLC, DaimlerChrysler AG, Maybach, smart gmbh, a division of Mercedes Benz LLC, the manufacturer of SMART automobiles, smart USA Distributor, LLC, a division of Penske Automotive Group, Inc, the exclusive authorized U.S. importer and distributor of the smart vehicle or any of their official dealerships


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger