MAP sensor on a 451 - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 09:34 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
MAP sensor on a 451

Where is it located? I got a "P0106/Manifold absolute pressure sensor" error code. Can't find any info about it on the 451 model out there.
copesettic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 01:20 PM
Orange Crate turbo coupe
SCOA Club
 
BARNEY O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cornfields of ILL.
Posts: 4,194
Thanks: 736
Thanked 1,918 Times in 901 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Its located on the front side of the engine mounted towards the bottom of the plastic intake manifold... The front side being closest to the cabin...

Last edited by BARNEY O; 03-03-2014 at 03:29 PM. Reason: sp
BARNEY O is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BARNEY O For This Useful Post:
John8888 (07-14-2014), tablist180 (03-03-2014)
#3 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 08:57 PM
Moderator
SCOA Club
 
SmartDigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,746
Thanks: 359
Thanked 322 Times in 238 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Garage
Evilution - Smart Car Encyclopaedia this will get you all you need.
SmartDigger is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 10:57 PM
Mad about smarts and Cats
SCOA Club
 
BB Benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 5,379
Thanks: 2,800
Thanked 1,934 Times in 1,130 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmartDigger View Post
Evilution - Smart Car Encyclopaedia this will get you all you need.
That would be true if we were talking about earlier smart cars with the MB Suprex engines.
The 451 that most of us have in the US has the Mitsubishi engine. Just to keep things from getting tangled or confused.
BB Benz is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 03-10-2014, 08:09 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Is this accessible to the amateur mechanic? MB wants $600 to replace it, but it costs $170 for the part.
copesettic is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 03-10-2014, 08:20 AM
Bohemian Moderator
SCOA Club
 
jwight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dayton, OH USA
Posts: 22,555
Thanks: 5,966
Thanked 4,741 Times in 2,756 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Garage


1 Screw
2 Intake manifold
3 Electrical connector
B28 Intake manifold pressure sensor

ALLDATA says the engine needs to be lowered for access.....

jwight is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to jwight For This Useful Post:
hihosilver (03-10-2014)
#7 (permalink) Old 07-14-2014, 10:16 AM
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Ive been trying tolocate this map sensor. I cant find it still. It isnt any where. So the engine has to be lowered. I wonder if I can get access to it removing the front seats
spottarget is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 07-14-2014, 10:43 AM
Orange Crate turbo coupe
SCOA Club
 
BARNEY O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cornfields of ILL.
Posts: 4,194
Thanks: 736
Thanked 1,918 Times in 901 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spottarget View Post
Ive been trying tolocate this map sensor. I cant find it still. It isnt any where. So the engine has to be lowered. I wonder if I can get access to it removing the front seats
No...
BARNEY O is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 07-14-2014, 11:05 AM
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
So I guess I have to take it to the dealer to get replaced. Sucks
spottarget is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Smart Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


331

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAP/IAT Sensor location and for use with the X3 Performance chip install.... 16.luca Arizona Chapter 2 06-21-2012 05:09 PM
Do we have a map. SOCAL SMARTIES MAP ADilwicius So Cal Smarties 46 06-05-2010 02:45 PM
One front 451 rim, tire & sensor complete $195.00 jgabram Archive/obsolete (?) threads 1 11-10-2008 05:24 AM
Smart Car of America Member Map - map is full! smorris New Members Area 140 07-07-2008 07:54 PM
How hard is it to install light sensor or rain sensor? lukerc smart Operation and Maintenance 1 06-05-2008 06:52 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On