Oil Leak - in oil cooler? (2005 smart diesel) - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 08-19-2009, 04:48 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Oil Leak - in oil cooler? (2005 smart diesel)

Hey everyone,

This is my first time posting, so I apologize if I come across as an amateur.

Anyways... I have a 2005 Smart Diesel. It has roughly 85,000kms and has done a fair bit of highway in the last couple weeks. A couple days ago I pulled into the garage to notice that there were oil specs on the back of the car. I look under and sure enough oil is leaking from the left side of the engine. The drive shaft is dry as i've heard it could leak from there. I check the oil and noticed it was way over-filled by the last mechanic which was roughly 2000km's ago. I took it back to the mechanic, which they removed some oil and cleaned up the oil on the underside to see where it was leaking from. They said they ran the car and saw no leaks. Well sure enough by the end of the day, i see it leaking down again. I left it with the mechanic for the whole day today, they took apart some stuff at the top of the engine and got to the oil cooler.... I'm sorry for the lack of detail but this is all i got. Anyways, the mechanic (which has broken english) said he took the hose off for the oil cooler and noticed a fair bit of oil sitting in the hose. They again ran the car and could not see where the leak was coming from, but they suspect it might be internal.

I'm not sure if this is enough info but does anyone have any suggestions on what this could be? Also, for the last couple weeks the engine at times would idle rough. I've had this problem before and the mercedes dearlership just cleaned the injectors and everything was fine. Also, after just getting the car back from the mechanic today, their is a little bit of smoke, very little! But it deffinetly smells!

Thank you for any help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement