Rough Idle and Running - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 08-19-2014, 09:44 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Rough Idle and Running

I have a 2008 smart fortwo with a little over 120,000 miles. Recently, I received the P0300, P0302, P0303 codes. It idles and runs rough and has noticeably lost power. I replaced the battery yesterday and the ignition coil on cylinder 2 just the other day. I had begun to suspect the CPS but don't have a code showing that is bad. Any thoughts or suggestions?
mbiskie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 08-19-2014, 11:23 AM
Mad about smarts and Cats
SCOA Club
 
BB Benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 5,539
Thanks: 2,837
Thanked 1,955 Times in 1,148 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Time to get a compression test and leak down test performed, on the cylinders.
BB Benz is online now  
#3 (permalink) Old 08-19-2014, 12:10 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
oh dear... I was afraid of that. smart center only, I presume?
mbiskie is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 08-19-2014, 12:19 PM
68K miles of smiles
SCOA Club
 
chieftmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 10,651
Thanks: 4,405
Thanked 2,285 Times in 1,414 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbiskie View Post
oh dear... I was afraid of that. smart center only, I presume?
No, you can do it yourself or have a "competent" mechanic do it for you (good luck finding one )

It "could" be spark plugs, COP or head gasket....a leak down and compression test will reveal a lot.
chieftmc is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 08-19-2014, 12:54 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks for the insights! I did put in 3 fresh sparks plugs a week ago. The old ones were way improperly gapped! The trouble did start after that, and after driving through a very large puddle on my way to work. I will replace the CPS and if that fails, do the compression and leak down tests. A friend of mine is a mechanic.
mbiskie is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 08-19-2014, 04:25 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Posts: 113
Thanks: 10
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
If the problem started after the spark plug change, I'd sure start there before throwing parts and money at it. Did you use the correct recommended spark plug or did you fall for the advertising hype some spark plug manufacturers put out? Lots of issues with poor running on some Mercedes models when the wrong supposedly better plug is installed.

Len
chieftmc likes this.
sokoloff is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 08-20-2014, 05:01 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Sokoloff...yes I used the Bosch replacement plug for the change. Additional information:


1. Problem really started after driving through heavy standing water on the road.
2. when coming to a stop, it cant seem to find the throttle... if I drop it into neutral and rev the gas, it stays running decently.
3. At speed, it seems to run just fine.
4. Car wont stall out, however, if I don't take the actions in #2 , when I press the gas to go, it sputters and has a hard time coming up to speed.
5. Even when running, a slight vibration occurs randomly... like the engine isn't running quite as smoothly as it should or used to.


Thanks again, all!
mbiskie is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 08-25-2014, 06:16 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Well, after changing out the Crankshaft position sensor, unplugging the battery before I even did it, hooked everything back up and its even WORSE! Pulled plugs on 2 and 3 and they are already burned on the electrode. Not wet or oily, just burned. Tried to start it this morning, it barely ran. Have to find a repair person local to Ocala Florida to get it towed to. It spat and sputtered and shook so badly, I barely backed out of my parking space and back in...died 3 times during that process.


UGH!!
mbiskie is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 08-25-2014, 11:42 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
My 2 cents but I've never had any success with Bosch plugs or sensors. Japanese engines in my experience like NGK plugs. I've tried other brands and I've had problem with miss firing, fouling, and not seating properly.
09451 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 08-25-2014, 12:22 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: home
Posts: 302
Thanks: 86
Thanked 133 Times in 82 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
buy a set of OEM plugs, gap them correctly, pull apart every electrical connector you can find near the rear of the car, blow the water out of them, use dielectric grease when you reconnect them.
dhirtle is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Smart Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


331

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rough idle on start up 08tkofortwo smart Operation and Maintenance 21 08-07-2014 05:45 AM
Rough idle ronj09 New Members Area 8 08-04-2013 11:51 AM
Rough Idle tpizzuto smart General Discussion 50 07-17-2013 05:47 PM
Rough idle mistyguchie New Members Area 11 01-24-2013 09:15 AM
Rough idle blackbeagle smart Operation and Maintenance 9 04-18-2008 03:05 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On