User Tag List

11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-01-2017, 09:29 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reasonable Price for Oil Change?

What would you guys say is a reasonable price for an oil change?
I'm unable to do it myself, because one, I have no idea how to and I'm not a car person at all, and two, I live in an apartment complex and we aren't allowed to work on our cars here.

I contacted Jiffy Lube, and they said they'd charge me $80 total.
I contacted Smart Madness, and they said around $150 total.
I'm guessing that the Smart Dealership in West Covina would be on the pricey side as well.

My local Jiffy Lube said they have quite a few Smarts that they do the oil for, do you think that would be my best bet? For those who don't change their oil themselves, how much do you typically pay in total for service and product? This is my first time getting an oil change with my car, since I work from home and don't put on as many miles as others.
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-01-2017, 09:45 PM
SCOA Club

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Garage
If I were you, I wouldn't go to the least expensive location. Too easy for someone to strip the threads on the oil pan. Madness should be just fine if you do not want to go to the smart Center Service Dept.
sokoloff likes this.
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-01-2017, 09:49 PM
Known as "Z06-LITE"
SCOA Club

Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Garage
I do my own oil changes and the cost from the local auto parts store is about $55.00 for the products. The only oil I use is Mobile 1 0W40 and the Mobile M-108 filter. The Mobile 1 is synthetic as specified by smart.

I guess $80.00 is not too high if they supply the correct oil and filter. I have read some nightmare stories about taking a smart to the "quickie lube" places. Use your best judgement.
Smart Bob and sokoloff like this.