#1 (permalink) Old 08-15-2013, 05:18 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
A review of the 2014 (?) smart fortwo

I searched but didn't see this. A friend sent me a link to this review:

2014 Smart fortwo Reviews and Ratings - The Car Connection

I've been debating with the website over the statement they make about crash ratings being "far from top", when the IIHS still has us at the very TOP of the ratings. It turns out they are saying the complete lack of testing by the NHTSA and the highest ratings from the IIHS equal "far from top" ratings. I'm still not grasping that math.

Overall, I really don't find the review bad, I just take exception to such an erroneous statement, and what's this cr@p about not doing well over 50mph? I've been commuting 48 miles a day, every weekday, for 3 years, 2/3 of it on the highway doing 65-70mph.

Anyway, had to share. I wish they had a visible comment feature under each article, so the rest of the world would see our comments.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 08-15-2013, 06:03 AM
ETA? Nah, time to beat...
SCOA Club

Thanked 1,897 Times in 1,272 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Garage
Actually, the smart has been tested by both the IIHS and the NHTSA...

NHTSA - 2008-2010

Front driver: 4 Stars
Front passenger: 3 Stars
Rollover: 3 Stars
Side impact: 5 Stars

2011-2014

Front driver: Untested*
Front passenger: Untested*
Rollover: 3 Stars
Side impact: Untested*

*If "Untested", previous ratings will rollover.

Overall: 4 Stars

IIHS - 2008-2014

Front: GOOD
Side impact: GOOD
Roof: GOOD
Rear (seat headrests): ACCEPTABLE

Overall: GOOD

Not the top ratings, but close. The only thing keeping the fortwo from being an IIHS Top Safety Pick is the headrest.

What I found really erroneous is the author's claim that there are only 4 airbags...There are now 6-8 on US models (cabrios get 6, coupes 8).