User Tag List

21Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-28-2017, 07:07 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Smart cars and motorcycles

I am a relative newbie to this forum. I noticed that motorcycles are frequently mentioned in the posts on this forum. I've been riding motorcycles for many years. I find many similarities between Smart cars and motorcycles. Both are small and extremely maneuverable. Both are ignored or targeted by our fellow drivers. A three cylinder dual overhead cam high compression, four valves per cylinder engine develops adequate horsepower for either vehicle. The transmission and engine work together with a similar shifting pattern, especially when driving the Smart in manual mode. Service and maintenance procedures are similar, though I don't know any dedicated motorcycle rider who would ride 10000 miles between oil changes. Most of us are driving around without a spare tire. There are many other similarities but I think you get the point.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-28-2017, 09:10 PM
Super Moderator
SCOA Club

Thanked 1,769 Times in 1,163 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Garage
A cage is a cage, but driving a smart is still awful fun.
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-29-2017, 07:00 AM

Quoted: 196 Post(s)
In past encounters I have found Bike riders are very interested in our smarts...
I told one biker at OTD a few years back when he asked "whats the best thing about the smart?' and I told him that "I won't get wet when riding in the rain and I when I come to a stop I don't have to put my feet down to prevent falling over." He gave me a big hand shake and said "enjoy the ride"...
valvestem likes this.

post #4 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-29-2017, 07:21 AM

Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwriter View Post