Song title/artist not showing on my Radio 10 screen for CDs - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 04-21-2008, 12:15 PM
 
SharonRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Huntington Woods, MI
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Song title/artist not showing on my Radio 10 screen for CDs

I've tried regular CDs and one MP3 CD that I burned and only the track number shows up in the screen. I made sure that it was set to "text" when I went through the menu.

Anyone else have this problem?
SharonRB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 04-21-2008, 06:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
It won't show up for regular CDs because the information isn't on the CD. For MP3 CDs, the data has to be in the encoded into the MP3 file. Where did the MP3s on the MP3 CD come from? Does the artist/song information show up on a PC?
JVottero is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 04-21-2008, 06:45 PM
 
SharonRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Huntington Woods, MI
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I copied it from a regular CD

Quote:
Originally Posted by JVottero View Post
It won't show up for regular CDs because the information isn't on the CD. For MP3 CDs, the data has to be in the encoded into the MP3 file. Where did the MP3s on the MP3 CD come from? Does the artist/song information show up on a PC?
in MP3 format. The file names show the song titles and artists on my PC. I assumed they would show up because of that. I didn't realize regular CDs didn't have the information on them.
SharonRB is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 04-21-2008, 07:15 PM
 
dbwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 835
Thanks: 5
Thanked 45 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I ripped a number of CDs and put them on a mp# cd and I have the titles and artists names on the radio. If the information is not on the commercial cd where did it come from?

Try this thread ans see if it helps

Question (dumb?) on the Radio 10 MP3 player

Last edited by dbwill; 04-21-2008 at 07:22 PM.
dbwill is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 04-21-2008, 07:27 PM
 
SharonRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Huntington Woods, MI
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
It was on the commercial CD, but the poster above said it wouldn't show on the radio screen.
SharonRB is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 04-21-2008, 07:32 PM
 
dbwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 835
Thanks: 5
Thanked 45 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I will go and try one now and repost shortly. Just put a commercially recorded cd in and it only showed the track number. Interesting, this is a cd I repped and recorded on a mp3 "Juke Box" cd where the title etc. shows

Last edited by dbwill; 04-21-2008 at 07:38 PM.
dbwill is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 04-21-2008, 07:51 PM
 
SharonRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Huntington Woods, MI
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Exactly my problem. I looked in the manual and saw you had to use the menu and make sure it's set to "text," which I did. I'll have to play around with it a little more or check it out with the dealer when I'm there next.
SharonRB is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 04-22-2008, 07:11 AM
 
SharonRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Huntington Woods, MI
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
w00t! I got the MP3 to show the titles! I thought the text setting was a one-time thing, but you have to do it each time you play a particular CD. It doesn't work for commercial CDs, but for the MP3 CD I burned, it worked by setting it to ID3 mode.
SharonRB is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 04-22-2008, 07:14 AM
 
dbwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 835
Thanks: 5
Thanked 45 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mine does not have to be reset each time. When you go through the menu and select ID3 do you push the volume knob to set the option?
dbwill is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 04-23-2008, 10:07 AM
 
SharonRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Huntington Woods, MI
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbwill View Post
Mine does not have to be reset each time. When you go through the menu and select ID3 do you push the volume knob to set the option?
Yes, I did. I'll have to try it again now that I know I can get it to work. Now I have to find time to burn some more CDs. I wasn't going to bother doing compilation CDs if the titles weren't going to show up, but now I'll do them when I get a chance so I don't have to carry so many CDs around in the car with me.
SharonRB is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Smart Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lovely song hollywood Off-Topic Cafe 0 03-28-2008 07:47 PM
CD Player - Song Repeat Function rrrucke smart Operation and Maintenance 2 03-20-2008 10:44 AM
CNBC Today they are showing the smart fortwo smartisme smart News & Rumors 3 01-14-2008 11:40 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On