want to transfer my smart reservation to someone in need... - Smart Car of America Forums : Smart Car Forum
Home News Models Alternatives
 
Smart Car of America - America's Largest Smart Fortwo Enthusiast Community   Smart Fortwo, smart car, smartcar
HOME FORUMS GALLERY

Go Back   Smart Car of America Forums : Smart Car Forum > Community > smart General Discussion


Notices

SmartCarofAmerica.com is the premier Smart Car Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
» Auto Insurance
» Supporting Partner
» Recent Threads
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2008, 09:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
want to transfer my smart reservation to someone in need...

Hey, I live in the LA area and had originally put down the 99 dollars to reserve my smart car. I don't want one anymore but I would like to transfer my reservation to someone in need. I would be getting a car within the first shipment...but I have decided that I don't really have the means to purchase one at the moment. So if anyone is in the LA area and would like to purchase a smart car (I think the first shipment comes to beverly hills next week) let me know. I would just cancel my reservation, but I would like to see it go to someone who is really enthusiastic about the smart car. So if you want to give me 99 dollars and I can have the reservation transfered into your name. E-mail me at lchikamoto@gmail.com

metrocitygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 09:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Drive: Passion
Posts: 661
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if this is real, it's gonna get ugly...and quick...
bmx43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 09:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
CruisingAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Drive: Passion
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
What is your reservation number, and what did you confirm?
CruisingAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 09:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
CruisingAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Drive: Passion
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmx43 View Post
if this is real, it's gonna get ugly...and quick...
I am guessing it is not, but what a way to get someone to send you $99

I would go for it if it turns out to be real and it is what I ordered.
CruisingAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 09:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Drive: Passion
Posts: 661
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yea, anything with a free e-mail address always puts up a red flag for me. yahoo, gmail, etc...
bmx43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 09:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
CruisingAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Drive: Passion
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmx43 View Post
yea, anything with a free e-mail address always puts up a red flag for me. yahoo, gmail, etc...
I won't send an email because I do not want a bunch of junk sent to me, If she responds here we will see where this goes. There are only 900 vehicles for Phx and 1400 registered.
CruisingAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 09:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Drive: Brabus
Posts: 114
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmx43 View Post
yea, anything with a free e-mail address always puts up a red flag for me. yahoo, gmail, etc...
Everything about this post screams fraud.

Trust me, I do this for a living.
august8pm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 09:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Amethyste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Gorgeous NH Seacoast
Drive: Cabrio
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I understand your caution here - but I use a "free" email address for my business and I am no way "fraudulent". If its real, then the person who can grab this is a lucky one.
Amethyste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 09:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
spdickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Drive: Passion
Posts: 1,982
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Except for the fact that the reservations are not transferable. She can buy the car and then resell it to someone else. But she would have to come in and take delivery from the dealer for that to work!

Otherwise the car turns into an orphan. And Vinnie at BH Benz (smart guy there) wants one for himself. Guess who the first orphan will go to?
spdickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 09:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Drive: Passion
Posts: 661
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amethyste View Post
I understand your caution here - but I use a "free" email address for my business and I am no way "fraudulent". If its real, then the person who can grab this is a lucky one.
absolutely. and i'm sure several people use free e-mail address with no ill-intentions. unfortunately EVERY scammer uses free e-mail. i can't tell you how many messages i get from scammers every time i list a car for sale on autotrader.com or an item on ebay and the all have gmail or hotmail or yahoo addresses.

everybody has the opportunity to have a legit, traceable e-mail. it's provided by their ISP. mine is cox.net.

the reality is that any time something sounds too good...it is. period. end of story. and there will always be people who prey on the believers.
bmx43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Today
 


This ad will not be shown if you are logged in.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What if Austin isn't one of the first 50 Dealers open? Will they transfer my order? kags1969 smart Reservations 16 12-29-2007 10:19 PM
New Guy Reservation Question Iceberg smart Reservations 2 11-12-2007 03:49 PM
SMART ForTwo Reservation # kurier44 smart Reservations 1 11-06-2007 02:38 PM
Reservation Kingnestor smart Reservations 23 10-11-2007 09:59 AM
smart "fortwo" reservation update Newsletter SMART smart Newsletters 0 08-13-2007 11:12 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:38 PM.



Smart Cars of America, LLC is not affiliated with, authorized by, associated with or have any connection with G&K, Zap, Mercedes-Benz, Mercedes-Benz AMG, Mercedes-Benz McLaren Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC, smart Canada Division, DaimlerChrysler, Chrysler LLC, DaimlerChrysler AG, Maybach, smart gmbh, a division of Mercedes Benz LLC, the manufacturer of SMART automobiles, smart USA Distributor, LLC, a division of Penske Automotive Group, Inc, the exclusive authorized U.S. importer and distributor of the smart vehicle or any of their official dealerships


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger