Removing TPMS sensor - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-05-2008, 06:40 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Removing TPMS sensor

I have to change a bent wheel so I need to remove the sensor. How do I remove this without damaging it in order to install in the new wheel.

Thanks
DAVE61353 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 07-05-2008, 06:56 PM
 
cubefx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lake Wales, FL
Posts: 1,419
Thanks: 13
Thanked 76 Times in 32 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
1. Take tire off.
2. Loosen the valve stem with 10mm or 11mm wrench.
3. Remove TPMS

CUBE
cubefx is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 07-06-2008, 10:33 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks CUBE!
DAVE61353 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 07-06-2008, 03:09 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: miami
Posts: 167
Thanks: 3
Thanked 26 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
T replace seals on sensor,torque to specs.
rubyg is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 07-06-2008, 05:25 PM
 
cubefx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lake Wales, FL
Posts: 1,419
Thanks: 13
Thanked 76 Times in 32 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubyg View Post
T replace seals on sensor,torque to specs.
I powdecoated my rims at 3000 miles and I didn`t replace cores or seals but did use toque wrench to tighten TPMS sensors back @8nm.
I think you only need to replace seals and cores if you replacing your tires, let say at 40000 miles.


CUBE
cubefx is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 07-11-2008, 11:57 AM
SCOA Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SO. CAL
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
When ever you remove the TPMS from your wheel and install again you should replace the seal and the plastic nut, you can buy kits to do this. The reason for replacing the plastic nut is because it gets deformed after installation and torque. I replaced the seals and nuts on my ridgeline when installing new wheels and this is a requirement per ridgeline service manual.
JIM VINYARD is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 07-11-2008, 12:39 PM
 
RussBarnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 591
Thanks: 69
Thanked 32 Times in 24 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yes this is something that is stated as part of the service of these, but where do you get them? My smart dealer is over 3 hours away. I ordered new TPS units from Tire Rack and they came with new nuts that were in Mitsi bags and I wanted to replace the other TPS units after powder painting. I went to several Mitsi dealers around Miami (much larger dealerships than here in middle TN), but they didn't have them. Then I went to a MB smart dealer in West Palm Beach and they didn't have them so how do we replace something that dealers don't stock or obviously aren't worried about? I think this is nuts - pun intended. Poor design since a simple o-ring would have worked and been available anywhere. So I reused them and that was 1500 miles and a month ago and zero leakage......we are so wrapped up in Federal safety standards that we will soon need TP signed by the Attorney General to go to the bathroom with.......and liberals are knocking at the door - GREAT!
RussBarnes is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 07-14-2008, 08:41 AM
SCOA Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SO. CAL
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
RussBarnes, go on line and look up TPMS ACCESSORY, and you will find replacement kits. You'll need to know what brand of sensor is in your wheels in order to purchase the correct kit, the kit will come with pressure valve,seal cap and nut, never use a metal cap with a TPMS system because it interfers with the signal coming from the transmitter in the wheels. You should'nt have any trouble using the old plastic nuts even though you are instructed to replace with new kits every time you remove the sensor from the wheel,the plastic nut has a locking ring built into it that gets deformed when torqued to the valve stem, the only thing that might happen is the nut will back off and you MAY develope a leak and set off your dash light for low tire pressure. Hope this helps you and happy motoring.
JIM VINYARD is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 07-14-2008, 04:33 PM
 
cubefx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lake Wales, FL
Posts: 1,419
Thanks: 13
Thanked 76 Times in 32 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIM VINYARD View Post
When ever you remove the TPMS from your wheel and install again you should replace the seal and the plastic nut, you can buy kits to do this. The reason for replacing the plastic nut is because it gets deformed after installation and torque. I replaced the seals and nuts on my ridgeline when installing new wheels and this is a requirement per ridgeline service manual.

Couldn't find replacement parts, so I reinstalled mine with old washers, nuts and cores and luckily for me do not have any problems. I would definitely replaced them if parts would be available.


CUBE
cubefx is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 07-15-2008, 08:30 AM
SCOA Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SO. CAL
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
cubefx, i would think that most of your tire shops would have the kits because they need to remove the TPMS some of the time when the tires are replaced. All cars and light trucks were required to have a TPMS systems starting in 2006. If i was you i would wait to replace cores,seals,nuts and caps if you already have them installed and they are not leaking, untill the next time you replace you tires. Your lights on your dash will let you know if you have any leaks. I would'nt worry.
JIM VINYARD is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Smart Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


331

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



  LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.smartcarofamerica.com/forums/f64/removing-tpms-sensor-10853/
Posted By For Type Date
Smart Car Blog: Smart Car Accessories This thread Refback 07-05-2008 09:41 PM

  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed sensor, reverse sensor wires nemo1 Audio & Video 31 03-06-2012 01:19 AM
How hard is it to install light sensor or rain sensor? lukerc smart Operation and Maintenance 1 06-05-2008 06:52 PM
UH OH! car's first full day and TPMS sensor is already on Thrilla from Manila smart fortwo (451 - US vehicle) 2 04-30-2008 12:56 PM
Removing Safety Stickers Westfield 11 smart General Discussion 5 01-31-2008 03:57 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On