Push to talk button/ voice recognition - Page 2 - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

 10Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-17-2015, 03:54 PM
SCOA Club
 
Mister_smart_LA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: smart center West Covina/L.A.
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 199
Thanked 541 Times in 395 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattquist View Post
As much as I hate to say it, this makes sense. Sounds like I've bought a $20K car that hasn't completed beta testing yet, nor dealer training. Then again, this isn't the first time that Ive felt snuffed by the Mercedes dealer network for tying up the service department's time with a "gasp" Smart car!

Thanks for the reply.
I sold a smart car with the multimedia package, and the voice control button worked! I am kicking myself though because I sold it without taking video of it, but it did work.

I'll see if I can dig up some pictures. I know I took some pictures of it. Matter of fact, I did shoot a video. Maybe I'll edit it tonight when I get home...
Smart Bob and OliverB like this.
Mister_smart_LA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-17-2015, 04:13 PM
SCOA Club
 
NW BRABUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 291
Thanks: 2
Thanked 46 Times in 38 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister_smart_LA View Post
I sold a smart car with the multimedia package, and the voice control button worked! I am kicking myself though because I sold it without taking video of it, but it did work.

I'll see if I can dig up some pictures. I know I took some pictures of it. Matter of fact, I did shoot a video. Maybe I'll edit it tonight when I get home...

Your lucky. I ordered the 1st run cars with it and they were silently deleted from the cars along the way...
NW BRABUS is offline  
post #13 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-17-2015, 05:13 PM
SCOA Club
 
Mister_smart_LA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: smart center West Covina/L.A.
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 199
Thanked 541 Times in 395 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NW BRABUS View Post
Your lucky. I ordered the 1st run cars with it and they were silently deleted from the cars along the way...
I know, I was lucky enough to have one slip through the cracks. It's a really really nice unit, but let's be honest folks. It's still ~$1800 additional, I think.
Mister_smart_LA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-19-2015, 02:35 AM
SCOA Club
 
Mister_smart_LA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: smart center West Covina/L.A.
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 199
Thanked 541 Times in 395 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Just a heads up, but the voice control button will become functional with the Cross Connect App. So if you have Android, go ahead and download the app.
Mister_smart_LA is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mister_smart_LA For This Useful Post:
jwight (12-19-2015), NW BRABUS (12-19-2015)
post #15 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-19-2015, 10:20 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
I have downloaded the Cross Connect App for iPhone, but have not had any luck using/activating voice control. Any suggestions?
sardina266 is offline  
post #16 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-19-2015, 10:23 AM
 
stevenvillatoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,476
Thanks: 261
Thanked 485 Times in 355 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1207 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sardina266 View Post
Any suggestions?

Did you pair your phone?
stevenvillatoro is offline  
post #17 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-19-2015, 10:39 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenvillatoro View Post
Did you pair your phone?
Yes... Paired with the smart Audio-System and plugged into the cradle. The system detects that the App is present (appears as [APP] on the screen before the media source), so believe the phone is properly paired/connected, but no response from voice control button.
sardina266 is offline  
post #18 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-19-2015, 11:53 AM
SCOA Club
 
NW BRABUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 291
Thanks: 2
Thanked 46 Times in 38 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by sardina266 View Post
I have downloaded the Cross Connect App for iPhone, but have not had any luck using/activating voice control. Any suggestions?

OK, I'll bite. Since it's not in the Apple App Store yet, where did you download it?


Edit: Never mind. It is on the App Store! YAY!!!
NW BRABUS is offline  
post #19 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-19-2015, 12:17 PM
SCOA Club
 
NW BRABUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 291
Thanks: 2
Thanked 46 Times in 38 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Garage
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by NW BRABUS View Post
OK, I'll bite. Since it's not in the Apple App Store yet, where did you download it?


Edit: Never mind. It is on the App Store! YAY!!!

Wow. Ten minutes with the app and does everything as promised. All you need is a 4"or 6" lighting charge cord and you can plug right into the phone cradle to charge your phone!


If you have a 2016 Smart, DOWN LOAD IT NOW!
jwight, Smart Bob and OliverB like this.
NW BRABUS is offline  
post #20 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-19-2015, 12:24 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Panhandle, WV
Posts: 1,337
Thanks: 47
Thanked 187 Times in 148 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NW BRABUS View Post
Wow. Ten minutes with the app and does everything as promised. All you need is a 4"or 6" lighting charge cord and you can plug right into the phone cradle to charge your phone!


If you have a 2016 Smart, DOWN LOAD IT NOW!
Yep, just returned from garage playing with the App for a few minutes. Walmart sells a very short cord for iPhones for a few dollars. Also believe they are available on eBay.
OliverB is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Smart Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting ready to push the button.....well almost! Banjoguy New Members Area 11 07-20-2015 07:16 AM
Push Button Start Miss Mercedes smart General Discussion 22 07-22-2014 04:21 PM
push button starter mermaid007 smart Modifications 7 07-10-2010 03:31 PM
push button start mermaid007 Interior & Exterior 21 10-28-2009 03:11 PM
Somebody looking for push button start mod? jwight Interior & Exterior 5 07-01-2008 08:32 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Clubs, Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.