AC/Home Light Switch Replacement Confusion. - Page 2 - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-27-2018, 06:16 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 2,719
Thanks: 512
Thanked 283 Times in 250 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 557 Post(s)
vadsoom, thank you. I was typing I solved the issue just as you posted. (I actually studied EE CS and then dropped after 3 years of struggle. I have the utmost respect for EEs and CSs! My bachelor's is in Biology).

Anyways, I had purchased the wrong switch. I lucked out in that the switch I replaced is the one with the hot. So once I found the hot wire, I followed a troubleshooting post I found somewhere.

Yes, I have replaced lamps and outlets which have shocked me to varrying degrees. Luckily I'm still alive!!!
jzchen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-27-2018, 06:40 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 206
Thanks: 21
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Ha! Wait until you get my bill!
jzchen likes this.
vadsoom is online now  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-27-2018, 07:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 2,719
Thanks: 512
Thanked 283 Times in 250 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 557 Post(s)
Uh oh, checking if my address is posted somewhere here!

(I was so sad when I watched the A/C repairman come, open the panel on the condenser unit, and tell me it was going to cost me $300 to replace the capacitor....)

(It turns out my aging father was the one who bought the switch. That's what I get for sending him to get one, back that long time ago...)

Last edited by jzchen; 01-28-2018 at 01:42 PM.
jzchen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-28-2018, 02:22 PM
 
Blackbelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SAXONBURG PA
Posts: 596
Thanks: 26
Thanked 187 Times in 117 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Glad i could point you in the right direction jzchen!
So what did he buy, a double pole switch?
I work in the electrical industry, so i have a little experience in these things. 3 ways can be confusing, but it seems you have gotten it under control.
Well done!
jzchen likes this.
Blackbelt is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-28-2018, 02:28 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 2,719
Thanks: 512
Thanked 283 Times in 250 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 557 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackbelt View Post
Glad i could point you in the right direction jzchen!

So what did he buy, a double pole switch?

I work in the electrical industry, so i have a little experience in these things. 3 ways can be confusing, but it seems you have gotten it under control.

Well done!


Yup, double pole switch! And me with my tiny knowledge tried to wire it up! My wife’s friend was over when we first noticed the phenomenon, and she just laughed!

Thanks again! It clearly states on the boxes how many poles you need for how many switches. When I looked up the three pole as you noted it immediately started to make sense....

If you guys are ever in the Southern California area please feel free to let me know...
jzchen is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-04-2018, 01:27 PM
 
Blackbelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SAXONBURG PA
Posts: 596
Thanks: 26
Thanked 187 Times in 117 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzchen View Post
Yup, double pole switch! And me with my tiny knowledge tried to wire it up! My wife’s friend was over when we first noticed the phenomenon, and she just laughed!

Thanks again! It clearly states on the boxes how many poles you need for how many switches. When I looked up the three pole as you noted it immediately started to make sense....

If you guys are ever in the Southern California area please feel free to let me know...
Thanks bud. I get there occasionally, as my sister lives in Mission Viejo
Blackbelt is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-04-2018, 01:30 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 2,719
Thanks: 512
Thanked 283 Times in 250 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 557 Post(s)
Cool! Not too far, and I have tons of family from my mother's side in San Diego!
jzchen is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Smart Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake light switch failures AlanPerry Technical "stickies" 52 01-29-2019 09:46 PM
ESP drops out while driving (solid ESP light, stuck in Park, bad brake light switch) redoregon smart fortwo (451 - US vehicle) 30 01-10-2013 10:30 AM
brake light switch dk03brf smart General Discussion 2 01-01-2009 12:12 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Clubs, Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.