2009 Smart starting issue - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 05:54 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
2009 Smart starting issue

Hey guys im having trouble with my car


I have a 2009

The car was running fine but A/c was not working and went to get it fixed , A/C guy said the a/c button/switch was not working and i told him just bypass it with wire and a toggle switch,, 2 days later he calls me and says the car does not start and has the key symbol showing.. He said the key needs re programming.. A guy came and said he can re program car and new key so i said yes , 2 days later said car is reprogramed and new key , but dont start even my old key and new key dont even open doors and key symbol is still showing in dash,,, It needs a new battery so im going to Orilley or Autozone for a new battery..


Any suggestions or what may be the issue ???

Car does crank but dont start ,but that with jumper cables from another battery , but key still dont work.
lsbcvs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 05:58 AM
Bohemian Moderator 451gas
SCOA Club
 
jwight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dayton, OH USA
Posts: 28,084
Thanks: 7,373
Thanked 5,808 Times in 3,521 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Garage
Welcome to SCoA!
jwight is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 08:55 AM
 
smark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lenexa Ks.
Posts: 6,774
Thanks: 476
Thanked 1,230 Times in 875 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 663 Post(s)
Sounds like you need to take your car, to a smart dealership. I’ve never Heard of a key fob, needing reprogram. Battery AC, key fob. Adding a Toggle switch, to turn on your AC? Have tried putting a new battery, in your key fob?


The people working on your car. Seem clueless.
smark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 12:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
What does FOB mean ????
lsbcvs is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 12:38 PM
Mod ♥ 450/451/453 + Motos
 
Miss Mercedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IL-WI Border
Posts: 17,200
Thanks: 5,602
Thanked 2,344 Times in 1,643 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Garage
The fob is the electronic part of your key. Key symbol basically means the key isn't disarming the immobilizer. In my 450s this is fixed by simply hitting the unlock button on the key before inserting it. Not sure what would cause it to happen with a 451.
Miss Mercedes is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-23-2019, 05:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok I have new battery

Car cranks but does not start

I have a new key programed but buttons do not work
I have old key ,but buttons dont work either
Key light in the dash is on ( Solid light )

I was told to get a new shifter console that thats my issue ??? ( Reason is that there is a start button there , I guess a while ago it had an issue and they hard wired starter with manual button)

Car was running 3 weeks ago ,but when A/c was repaired i guess they shorted something out ..

Any input guys ?
lsbcvs is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-23-2019, 08:16 PM
Super Moderator
SCOA Club
 
jimvw57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: southern Minnesota
Posts: 11,121
Thanks: 303
Thanked 1,964 Times in 1,346 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 799 Post(s)
Garage
ouch!! sounds like they are throwing parts at at your expense! I would get the codes from all the computers (need to have either a high end scanner, or the Mercedes STARR computer) and go from there. i is possible the reprogramming may have confused the computers. ( just my guess) but I would suspect the bypass wiring could be messing with the canbus communications between the computers.
jimvw57 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-24-2019, 04:06 PM
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I would start by undoing whatever the AC guy did.
If he cut any wires, put them back where they should be.
Also check the SAM module for any lose connections.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
Brabus451 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Smart Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Clubs, Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.