Wiper problem - How should I troubleshoot? (bad wiper motor) - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-18-2016, 09:23 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Wiper problem - How should I troubleshoot? (bad wiper motor)

Hello,

This is my first time posting on a forum, so I hope I'm not asking a question that's already been answered! I've got a 2005 fortwo that's always been working great. However, the wipers got stuck in the "up" position, and won't come down unless I give them a firm "nudge" manually, then they come down again. When they are stuck in the "up" position, the motor is still making a noise.

I can't see any obvious problem with the wiper system... but it's almost like a gear lost a tooth and the wipers won't engage until pushed by a few inches and then they come back down. If I open them again, they get stuck any time they hit the "open" position. I've looked at diagrams of the system, quite confusing.

Does anyone here know what might be the problem? I'm hoping the fix isn't too complicated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-18-2016, 10:29 PM
Mod ♥ 450/451/453 + Motos

Thanked 2,350 Times in 1,648 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Garage
Welcome to SCoA! The 450 isn't as common of a model you'll see around here, and I think our 450 guys are sleeping, so I'll do my best!

Anyway, it sounds like either your wiper mechanism needs to be "hacked" or replaced:

Evilution - Smart Car Encyclopaedia
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-19-2016, 01:09 AM
Banned

Quoted: 163 Post(s)