CD changer - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-02-2008, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Omaha
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
CD changer

Does anyone know why about 10 percent of the time at startup the cd changer takes several minutes to load? It states CD loading or moving and you cannot play anything until it does. It happens when you start the car and the CDs are already in there.
Ativan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-02-2008, 07:56 PM
 
spdickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,982
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The changer moves CDs from its rack into position to play. They move out of play position when the radio is turned off to prevent damage to the spindle.
spdickey is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-02-2008, 08:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Omaha
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Does it take several minutes from start up at times to complete this process?
Ativan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-02-2008, 08:15 PM
 
spdickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,982
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ativan View Post
Does it take several minutes from start up at times to complete this process?
No, though it seems like it, its actually less than 15-20 seconds to change from one CD to another.
spdickey is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-04-2008, 04:24 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: st pete florida
Posts: 217
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
mine has acted up ,every 2-3 days it locks up ,I end up turning on the radio then turning the cd changer back on after several minutes ,I added a MP-3 player ,so most likely I won't use it as much
smartfloridadad is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-04-2008, 04:55 AM
Ex Admin/mod.
SCOA Club
 
JPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Clearwater Beach
Posts: 9,491
Thanks: 679
Thanked 1,456 Times in 939 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Garage
Radio #10 vs. mp3

From the onset, I wanted the 5 speakers system, but NOT the radio #10 because I don't care about 6 CDs. For me CDs are passé. They are seldom filled to capacity, feature mostly just one artist and are prone to deterioration with time (heat warping, sitting on them accidently, dropping them, etc...) and changing them can distract me while I drive.
For me the only way to go is mp3 and custom made playlists.
One could argue that I should have gotten radio #9; but I wanted the original factory-installed sound system. It has a better re-sale value when (if) my smart has to go. Very seldom did I manage to sell add-ons at any palatable value. Whereas factory-installed options are often considered as more "genuine", and therefor keep a better value.
JPaul is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-04-2008, 05:15 AM
 
rrrucke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ATL
Posts: 591
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I must say, this is the cheapest radio I have ever had in a car. The premium upgrade came standard but it is lacking in quality & speed. When it's cold, my CD player has taken up to 5 mins to turn on which was a weird experience and the changer takes F-O-R-E-V-E-R to switch CDs. I think there are Ompaloopas sleeping or hiding inside my smart radio and they are surprised to receive a request to change the CD so I sit and wait while they get their arse in gear. It also takes F-O-R-E-V-E-R to load and unload CDs. It really pushes you to get satellite radio or your iPod up to date so you can just plug & play. God help me with patience until my aftermarket install is done. Now I just have to find some products that I like. Until then, I suffer through it. Thanks, Regina
rrrucke is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-04-2008, 09:20 AM
Bohemian Moderator 451gas
SCOA Club
 
jwight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dayton, OH USA
Posts: 27,935
Thanks: 7,354
Thanked 5,788 Times in 3,506 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Garage
Since I don't have a car yet this is just my .02, but this is basically a $12K car; yes, a fully loaded Cabrio is a lot more but still the same basic car. They aren't going to put a high end system in these cars from the factory; even the Radio 10 is a "minor" upgrade compared to what's available in high dollar cars. So....., either be happy with what smart provides or spend mucho money to upgrade the audio in which case you'll have a $12K car with an audio system worth around 10% of the car's value. Your money, do what you want but I think JPaul is correct in his assessment.
jwight is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-04-2008, 10:10 AM
 
spdickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,982
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I love the Radio 10. I burn MP3 cd's get about a hundred tunes per disk. They play them just fine with all the artist and title info on the screen. It can shuffle them, too!
spdickey is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-04-2008, 10:15 AM
 
eqwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 671
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Garage
Radio 10 so far has been ok with me as well. Mine doesn't seem to take any longer to change CD's than my (ok people, don't age me here) Sony -A10 disc jockey in my truck did.
eqwalker is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Smart Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about the CD changer Harleyduo smart General Discussion 4 12-07-2007 06:50 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Clubs, Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.