Blinking D/N/R & Wrench But Runs Fine (!?) - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 08-12-2015, 10:19 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Blinking D/N/R & Wrench But Runs Fine (!?)

Hi, everyone! Newbie here. Purchased my 2010 Passion about 2 months ago and am positively loving it!!! It came from a used car lot that was definitely no dealer of any sort...in fact the guy didn't even know the engine was in the rear! I had done quite a lot of research beforehand and had sniffed this car out at this lot roughly an hour away from my house. Anyhow...I bought it with this blinking problem. At first I didn't know there was a problem...had read about the blinking wrench being a maintenance reminder...and knew the oil had been changed. The blinking gear indicator, however, I did not know was NOT normal 'til later. I successfully reset the wrench (the days past due counter went to zero & the wrench stopped blinking...until I restarted the car, ugh!) I've read a lot about limp mode and all that. This car drives completely fine. It doesn't skip gears, it goes into reverse fine, I have no clue why it could be blinking when in gear (auto or manual, doesn't make a difference, still blinks.)

Smart dealer is 3 hours away. I called and the service guy I spoke with just told me he didn't know but I should bring it in because there may be a problem that hasn't yet shown up while driving. I'm not sure if that may be true or not.

We also pulled the battery cables for a good hour. All that did was kill the infamous Fuse 12...which was a whole 2 day conundrum I had to figure out!

I am clueless. I have researched every single nook & cranny of the internet for this distinct problem, with no joy. Help! The blinky-blinky I can ignore fairly well, but am afraid there might be a true problem? (though the longer the car runs fine I am doubting it)

Thanks for any insight!
Sponsored Links