P0805 Clutch Position Sensor Circuit problem - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 04:32 PM Thread Starter
 
chieftmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 11,472
Thanks: 4,579
Thanked 2,401 Times in 1,519 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Garage
P0805 Clutch Position Sensor Circuit problem

I just got a P0805 tonight rolling into my driveway

Selector shows in gear... motor revs .... no movement :eek:

Any suggestions ??????


chief.............always in need
chieftmc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 04:34 PM Thread Starter
 
chieftmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 11,472
Thanks: 4,579
Thanked 2,401 Times in 1,519 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Garage
Well,

Apparently a SG can NOT reset a P0805 code

I shut off car for 1/2 an hour.....restart....it now drives.... BUT ..... still have CEL P0805

Any help from anyone smarter than me (that's ALL of you ) ????

I have disconnected the battery.....will wait 1/2 hour and see !!!

chief............still needy
chieftmc is offline  
post #3 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 04:38 PM
 
mhornfeck72205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Jackson NJ
Posts: 358
Thanks: 100
Thanked 151 Times in 64 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
sounds like clutch actuator! :O See if its stuck in its extended position. that'd keep it from engaging.

*edit* also, you can try and hear if its functioning by putting it on accessory power, press the brake, put it in +/-, and shifting between 1 and 2 while stationary.
mhornfeck72205 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 04:55 PM
Terminated
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Here and There
Posts: 907
Thanks: 29
Thanked 131 Times in 95 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Not sure about the actual problem, but how do you know that the SG isn't resetting the code? If the problem still exists, the light would come back on immediately and store the code again.

I remember one time a friend of mine had a throttle position sensor code on his car and he asked me to reset it with my scan tool. As soon as I reset the code, it stored the code again immediately because the voltage was way out of the specified range.
misfitsailor likes this.
Critical Thinker is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Critical Thinker For This Useful Post:
chieftmc (03-13-2012)
post #5 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 05:05 PM Thread Starter
 
chieftmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 11,472
Thanks: 4,579
Thanked 2,401 Times in 1,519 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhornfeck72205 View Post
sounds like clutch actuator! :O See if its stuck in its extended position. that'd keep it from engaging.

*edit* also, you can try and hear if its functioning by putting it on accessory power, press the brake, put it in +/-, and shifting between 1 and 2 while stationary.
The Actuator is working, took car out and it shifts fine....just still have CEL P0805 !
chieftmc is offline  
post #6 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 05:05 PM Thread Starter
 
chieftmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 11,472
Thanks: 4,579
Thanked 2,401 Times in 1,519 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Critical Thinker View Post
Not sure about the actual problem, but how do you know that the SG isn't resetting the code? If the problem still exists, the light would come back on immediately and store the code again.

I remember one time a friend of mine had a throttle position sensor code on his car and he asked me to reset it with my scan tool. As soon as I reset the code, it stored the code again immediately because the voltage was way out of the specified range.
Guess that's possible....didn't think of it...thanks
chieftmc is offline  
post #7 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 06:07 PM Thread Starter
 
chieftmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 11,472
Thanks: 4,579
Thanked 2,401 Times in 1,519 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Garage
Update 1

Well, I disconnected the battery for about 1/2 an hour and all seems well.

The P0805 code has cleared. I did the "teach in" and took her for a spin

All seems well now....guess I'll see in the morning when I go to work


chief......... a little less needy now
chieftmc is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to chieftmc For This Useful Post:
Pee-wee Germa (03-13-2012)
post #8 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 09:52 PM
SCOA Club
 
BB Benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 5,762
Thanks: 2,875
Thanked 1,992 Times in 1,180 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chieftmc View Post
I just got a P0805 tonight rolling into my driveway

Selector shows in gear... motor revs .... no movement :eek:

Any suggestions ??????


chief.............always in need
Yes, Push it!

Your's has enough miles on it now to possibly need the moving in a bit adjustment of the clutch actuator maybe, like Blackandwhite08 did on his.
BB Benz is offline  
post #9 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 10:24 PM
Super Moderator
SCOA Club
 
jimvw57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: southern Minnesota
Posts: 11,077
Thanks: 302
Thanked 1,961 Times in 1,343 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Garage
The SG will reset most codes, but some codes can not be reset. Had the same issue with my turbine shaft error. had to disconnect the battery for at least 1/2 hour to reset it. I ended up cleaning out all the wiring connectors I could find and using a bit of dielectric grease to seal them and the problem went away. (didn't even know I had a turbine in my car) Found the problem only happened if I washed the car or drove through big puddles. i could consistently drive 4.5 miles before it came back on again. It was a long weekend.

This sounds like a clutch actuator that needs cleaning and greasing (??)
jimvw57 is offline  
post #10 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 10:45 PM
SCOA Club
 
BB Benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 5,762
Thanks: 2,875
Thanked 1,992 Times in 1,180 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Jim, did you finally figure out which connector fixed the turbine shaft error code?
BB Benz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Smart Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clutch problems again: Error code P0805 just popped up unicycle smart General Discussion 45 05-01-2017 08:40 PM
How to replace the crankshaft position sensor rfernatt Technical "stickies" 20 11-13-2016 12:14 PM
Engine start question for the gearheads (crankshaft position sensor?) rfernatt smart Operation and Maintenance 17 05-24-2013 08:05 AM
Throttle Position Sensor jgspears smart Operation and Maintenance 0 10-09-2011 12:07 PM
P0018 Crankshaft Position/Camshaft Position Correlation Bank 2 Sensor A(incl part #s) mrgreat smart Operation and Maintenance 14 07-24-2011 08:47 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Clubs, Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.