smart car gps - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 03:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
smart car gps

hello

the gps navigation in my smart car is not working. It allows me to do the POI feature where you can find nearby hospitals, hotels, schools, etc, but it does not allow me to enter an adress in. the address icon is not lit up and it does not allow me to click it. I know when i first got the car the guy said something like u put the car in park to enter in an address but that still did not work for me. Does anyone know how i can enter in address?

thanks
kaleg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 03:07 PM
Bohemian Moderator 451gas
SCOA Club
 
jwight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dayton, OH USA
Posts: 28,186
Thanks: 7,376
Thanked 5,818 Times in 3,529 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Garage
Brand and model number? smarts don't come with factory GPS in the US, so you likely have a dealer installed aftermarket system.
jwight is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 03:18 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Common "feature" is to have it tied to the parking brake. Have you put the car in park as well as had the parking brake engaged?
dovienya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 03:39 PM
 
forestacademy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spry Whimsy Fiber Arts
Posts: 11,891
Thanks: 125
Thanked 775 Times in 480 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Garage
my maps work great.




Paper that is



forestacademy is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 03:45 PM
 
lebikerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North Vancouver/British Columbia
Posts: 778
Thanks: 16
Thanked 111 Times in 76 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Garage
The OEM GPS on a smart is Garmin I believe. Take a look at their website for help...
lebikerboy is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 08:31 PM
 
SmartDigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,072
Thanks: 369
Thanked 352 Times in 265 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Garage
My $99 tomtom from tigerdirect.com works great also. Try doing the P-R-N-D-+/- and back with the shifter.
SmartDigger is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Smart Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Clubs, Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.