2012 Smart: resetting maintance schedule after oil change - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-12-2012, 03:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Livingston, Texas
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
2012 Smart: resetting maintance schedule after oil change

Howdy!

Well as usual the "Operator's Manual" is worthless again. I just had the oil changed on my 2012 Smart and can not reset the maintance schedule. Can anyone help with this. I have done a search and did not see a way to reset it.

Thanks
chiefneon
chiefneon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-12-2012, 04:00 PM
Ex Admin/mod.
SCOA Club
 
JPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Clearwater Beach
Posts: 9,491
Thanks: 679
Thanked 1,456 Times in 939 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Garage
JPaul is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-12-2012, 04:03 PM
 
GeekGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Floriduh.....
Posts: 2,040
Thanks: 222
Thanked 344 Times in 192 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
GeekGirl is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to GeekGirl For This Useful Post:
JPaul (07-12-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-12-2012, 04:24 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Livingston, Texas
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Howdy!

I tried those and they did not work. The 2012 displays a message and on all functions you use the turn signal shaft on the right to go through functions and not the buttons on the dash to the right and left. I think I need to use it instead of the buttons. I had to learn the hard way how to set the clock using it instead of the buttons. I've found it in the functions but unable to figure out how to reset it and delete the message.

Thanks
chiefneon

Last edited by chiefneon; 07-12-2012 at 04:33 PM.
chiefneon is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-15-2012, 10:54 AM
 
Jim Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: S.W. Houston, TX
Posts: 219
Thanks: 4
Thanked 34 Times in 17 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Some Smarts won't do it. You have to do it with the Computer. My 09 is one of them. Everyone says "it's easy" until they try to reset mine. Just don't work. I just let it flash now. -314 and counting.
Jim Davis is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-24-2012, 08:53 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: langley
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bart

mine 2005 diesel is very dificoldto reset
bartv is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-25-2012, 06:25 AM
 
chieftmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 11,472
Thanks: 4,579
Thanked 2,401 Times in 1,519 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Davis View Post
Some Smarts won't do it. You have to do it with the Computer. My 09 is one of them. Everyone says "it's easy" until they try to reset mine. Just don't work. I just let it flash now. -314 and counting.
A piece of electrical tape will take care of that
chieftmc is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-29-2012, 08:08 AM
 
Jim Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: S.W. Houston, TX
Posts: 219
Thanks: 4
Thanked 34 Times in 17 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chieftmc View Post
A piece of electrical tape will take care of that
If it were a seperate function, I agree, but after a few seconds, the mileage returns. I hardly notice it anymore.
Jim Davis is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Smart Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How critical is O-ring change while doing oil change? joeshark smart Operation and Maintenance 9 05-13-2012 06:59 AM
How often do I need to change oil in my Smart Car? katiabokor New Members Area 3 02-08-2011 10:02 AM
How to change your smart's oil and filter rfernatt Technical "stickies" 20 11-15-2010 07:18 AM
Oil Change on my Smart Car COGreenDiva smart Operation and Maintenance 3 12-02-2009 05:19 PM
Smart 450 Oil Change seamo Modifications and Repairs 5 12-02-2009 05:11 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Clubs, Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.