P2177 System Too Lean Off Idle Bank 1 - Page 2 - Smart Car Forums
User Tag List

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 40 (permalink) Old 03-23-2011, 02:54 PM
 
Smartfor2guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tomball Texas
Posts: 1,216
Thanks: 42
Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by deepblueQ View Post
Gas pedal assembly?!? That should have nothing to do with the mixture...
On a drive by wire? Maybe
Smartfor2guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 40 (permalink) Old 03-23-2011, 06:28 PM
 
Brabus007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Marion Oaks
Posts: 3,454
Thanks: 1,125
Thanked 987 Times in 577 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Brabus007 is offline  
post #13 of 40 (permalink) Old 03-23-2011, 06:39 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 1,005
Thanks: 0
Thanked 91 Times in 68 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Definitely not a fan of K & N. I know their website dispells "MAF myths" and do testing on behalf of consumer complaints from MAF failure issues. I had one evaluated by them, and guess what, no problem with the MAF. Just like a defense attorney giving his client a lie detector. Too many details to go into including how they use the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act.

That said, it could either be your MAF or an oxygen sensor bank 1. Either way, try not to drive the smart too much. It could potentially overheat the catlyitic converter.
pack smart is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 40 (permalink) Old 03-23-2011, 06:58 PM
 
BARNEY O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cornfields of ILL.
Posts: 4,297
Thanks: 742
Thanked 1,945 Times in 917 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Smart car does not have a "maf" sensor but does have a "map" sensor.
BARNEY O is offline  
post #15 of 40 (permalink) Old 03-23-2011, 07:13 PM
To the XCAPEPOD!
SCOA Club
 
rfernatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 6,060
Thanks: 442
Thanked 1,761 Times in 868 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Garage
Since the MAP sensor readings are combined with air temperature to compute air mass, could a malfunctioning temperature sensor (I presume the same one that gives temp readings on the dash) cause a lean/rich issue? Of course, I'm way out of my league on this one...
rfernatt is offline  
post #16 of 40 (permalink) Old 03-23-2011, 07:26 PM
 
jetfuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: padded room #1
Posts: 8,942
Thanks: 847
Thanked 2,011 Times in 1,012 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
..yes..a bad T2 sensor will affect fuel management...but since most T2's are fixed resistors they don't come and go...they usually just go...

jetfuel...good call RF..
jetfuel is offline  
post #17 of 40 (permalink) Old 03-23-2011, 07:33 PM
 
BARNEY O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cornfields of ILL.
Posts: 4,297
Thanks: 742
Thanked 1,945 Times in 917 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Shadow, went back to your original statements and trying to put everything in sequence. You mentioned seeing 2 codes?
Did you clean and reoil your K&N filter, then you had this issue ?
BARNEY O is offline  
post #18 of 40 (permalink) Old 03-23-2011, 07:55 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nebraska, 15 miles from Wyoming
Posts: 1,881
Thanks: 829
Thanked 295 Times in 226 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smartfor2guy View Post
On a drive by wire? Maybe
On a drive by wire there are just two signals: main and backup. These are just voltages. Backup is half voltage of main, and only used to determine if something is wrong with the main signal. If something goes wrong with the accel assembly, it would cause errant load at the ECU. The load can be anything you want, but it won't affect the mixture. At anything below ~5200RPM, the only load with non- 14.5:1 AFR is 0 (fuel-cutoff coasting).

Maybe if there was a loose connection or something and the accelerator signal kept jumping between 0 and <desired load>, you might get a lean mixture CEL... but I doubt it, and I really doubt that you wouldn't get much more pressing issues than the AFR...
deepblueQ is offline  
post #19 of 40 (permalink) Old 03-23-2011, 08:20 PM Thread Starter
 
shadowchameleon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 322
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Garage
i got my K&N filter just before Nationals sometime in April or May. Engine light, 2 P2177s, erased, recharged my filter, week later engine light, 2 P2177s, erased as of 4 or 5pm today. And im at 30k mi. Enginewise i have only replaced oil, oil filter, and air filter.
shadowchameleon is offline  
post #20 of 40 (permalink) Old 03-23-2011, 09:44 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 1,005
Thanks: 0
Thanked 91 Times in 68 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
shadowchameleon:

I wish your original post Title could be changed. I don't think that can happen within the OP scope of this particular forum, however I could be wrong.

New Title to the original post suggestion. "P2177 System Too Lean Off Idle Bank 1".

It will help out the smartie family as we find codes and research.
pack smart is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Smart Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










« replacing roof | - »
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lean the seat back? Youmaylose smart General Discussion 21 04-07-2010 09:12 PM
Going lean on the smart? VinceLA smart Modifications 16 07-24-2008 02:18 PM
just got orphan, from behind it looks like rear wheels lean inward mnext02 smart General Discussion 5 05-04-2008 07:05 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Clubs, Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.