Bohemian Moderator 451gas
SCOA Club

Thanked 5,810 Times in 3,522 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Garage
Need some Android help

Any experts out there? Having trouble with some mp3 files not playing on the Android music player.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-09-2014, 11:03 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Garage
I don't know if I'm an expert, but I certainly have experience. When you refer to "the Android music player", do you mean Google Play Music, or another app that calls itself "Music Player" (I know Android used to have a generic music player, and certain device manufacturers bundle in their own branded music players too).

If you aren't using Google Play Music, more info may be required. Some players don't have the codecs necessary to play certain files, but I've found Google Play Music is pretty good for file playback (Should be available from the Play Store). There are other players that are good as well.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-09-2014, 11:58 AM Thread Starter
SCOA Club

Garage
No, these mp3s won't play in Google Play, the native Music Player on the tablet or in any of several 3rd party players I tried and discarded. The files were copied to an external sd card from a PC - at one point the music players would see all the files - now they only see the ones they'll play. As far as I can tell each file is a real mp3 - the only difference is the ones that play don't have any artist or album info, and no album art. Some sort of voodoo at work....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-09-2014, 12:05 PM

Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Garage