Smart Car of America Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys,
I decide to buy 2 Smart Electric Drive for city usage and now I have few question from experts :)

Car Land vehicle Vehicle Vehicle registration plate Daytime

I have a lot of experience with Tesla batteries, I made a DIY Tesla Power wall with 40kWh of storage for my home usage on PV system, but since smart batteries seems to be different than Tesla I have few questions regarding charging procedure. I will leave a link from my project on Tesla. https://youtu.be/jHtLdR4Mv5g

For example, I use my Tesla batteries in a safer way. Usually I discharge them to 50-60% and charge to 85-90%, of course I made this via PV inverter and I set my voltages.

Since in Smart we don't have this option to limit the change voltage or percent I write some codes in my smart home automation that will disconnect a module that stop charge my car. In this way I prevent the car to be charged to 100%. It's my beta Smart software, basically, just select the actual percent of battery from car, and the home will deliver rest of kwh to fill the battery to around 90%. I will receive a push notification that announce me that the car start charging and at the end also will send me a push notification that inform that the car is ready to drive, and how many kWh has been charged. Font Material property Gadget Technology Electric blue Font Sky Screenshot Astronomical object Terrestrial plant Wheel Tire Car Vehicle Automotive lighting

I'm curious what kind of charger you use for home charging, use the stock one or else?
I found also on Alixpress this one, someone has some experience with? I order one for tests and reviews, I plan to mount outside, so I just plug the cable and charge. If will be ok I will order 2, I don't want to fight with my wife for charging. :))

I plan to use SMART from 40% to 90%, so once car reach 40-50% SOC I will charge to 90-95%.