Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
427 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought I had a thread for this, but apparently not, so here it is...

Earlier this year I picked up a 2010 Smart ForTwo W451 junker as a parts car. It arrived and since I didn't already have too many other projects and just a tiny bit of sanity left, I figured I'd see if I could get it going again. I am not very experienced as a mechanic, but I have done a lot of my own routine maintenance for years, brakes, bushings, tierods ends, balljoints, the odd wheel bearing here and there, etc so this is going to be a learning experience.

I prefer to have a thread on an issue, but it's nice to have a thread for the car itself and that's this thread.
I hope to link from this to whatever work gets done on the car.

First off I needed to remove the drivertrain assembly.
That went pretty well, in retrospect I wish I had made some plugs for the brakelines, it would have saved me a lot of brake flushing. If anyone knows the thread specs, kindly share them.

Then I had to figure out how to remove the enigne from the sub assembly and separate the engine from the transmission. It's in this thread that it was apparent what most likely happened to cause the car to fail. There's a mark on the engine bay insulation where it appears a failed belt hit the insulation, since that powers the water pump, it overheated and melted some of the intake manifold. The head is also warped, but it might be salvageable. I'll try to get to that at some point, but I went ahead and bought a replacement motor.

Over here I swap in the new motor and get it running.

In the process, I discover all 3 motor mounts had failed so I replaced the motor mounts while I was reassembling.

Once I got it running, I wanted to see if the rest of the drivetrain was operable so I pulled it out of the garage and the noise suggested something was not right in the front end.