Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Two weeks ago a car wash I’ve been using for six years with three models malfunctioned.

The end garage door did not see the car and came down on the glass, cracking it with an L shape crack starting at the middle slowly moving each day to the left or driver’s side.

The downward force kept a brake tap from going over a yellow roller which would have instantly shut it down.

It held the Smart Car down in place and kept downward force on the apex of the roof with initially a skunk stripe, now two weeks later, it had ripped the fabric on the roof with two slices front to back.

Each night with a little moisture there are individual shapes, rectangular, hexanganal, triangular, and all geometric shapes which clearly show up overlapping each other.

Watching video tube crushing tests Insurance Institute for Highway Safety tested the roof which is an intergral part of the tridion system ranked number 1 in roll over crush tests at 9000 pounds of pressure against the driver’s side and gave in five inches allowing the driver from being crushed. The worst of the six was the Chevy Avira.

My question, since the window will give at any moment and the roof has been compromised as far as structural strength, not at an angle by straight down force. How serious has the structural tridion cell been damages.

There has also been structural damage on the passenger side frame which has weakened the structure of the battery housing.

Mercedes had deemed these critical problems as “operational” going to the top level.

Any advice. The front windshield is cracked and will either slice but surely fold in at the weakest point causing a possible guilotine effect and a headless driver.

The car wash took responsibility and I have a video pulse narration fo the accident by the manager.