Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
King of Smart Gadgetry
1,063 Posts
I bought the C5 version a couple of months ago. It seems to work well but haven't as of yet had the time to dig into it. The biggest drawback with mine is they come with no documentation or instructions. To add to the problem, German engineers use different terms for things and approach things a little differently than I am used to. Mercedes Benz techs get a lot of training on using it so it. I am a retired computer technician and I still find it a little intimidating. There are bits and pieces of info on the internet to find. I have only find a few. Things like DAS and WIS are terms to be learned. It's menu driven but sometimes the menu layouts or the terms therein don't make sense until you learn them. I was surprised there wasn't more info here on the forum from other members that have it. I will post some links below of the stuff I have found. Some is more relevant than others. I bought the C5 with the Dell 630 laptop but there are similarities between the C3, C4 and C5 Star machines. DCO

·
Registered
49 Posts
I have an older C3 version, which has been a Godsend for the various other Mercedes products I've owned. It'll communicate with my smart, but they're relatively simple cars without a lot of modules to talk to.

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have an older C3 version, which has been a Godsend for the various other Mercedes products I've owned. It'll communicate with my smart, but they're relatively simple cars without a lot of modules to talk to.
Can you give information as to the one you bought?

·
Registered
49 Posts
Very similar to this machine. May even be the same seller, I don't remember anymore.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Make sure you run a virus scan on it. The software they give you is loaded with viruses.