Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this idea! What are the risks in buying these earlier models from someplace like eBay? I really like this body style much better than the upcoming fortwo in the U.S. though I do have a reservation for one.

My local Mercedes dealer did confirm to me that if I purchased an earlier model that they could service it.

Thanks for any tips and advice you can offer.

Jerry

·
Super Moderator
29,146 Posts
It's an option - at least you'd have a car sooner. But not all the updated features and equipment.

I'd be very skeptical of a stateside M-B dealer who says they can service a smart car. Just ask to see the factory training certificates for their mechanics!

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's an option - at least you'd have a car sooner. But not all the updated features and equipment.

I'd be very skeptical of a stateside M-B dealer who says they can service a smart car. Just ask to see the factory training certificates for their mechanics!
If one buys one of these smarts from eBay where do you get them serviced?

·
Super Moderator
29,146 Posts
That is the big question for me; you might try asking over on the 450 portion of the forum. Those guys have the cars and all the insight on owning one. :)

·
Registered
319 Posts
My $.02 worth

JetJazz

First off I am a gray owner (if you search this forum for ASmartMan and AFineMan you will see how I got to where I am today), here is the trip I made to buying a Gary market model.

I searched for an electric car for my commute (19.2 miles in each direction), I quickly came to realize that unless I spent $100K+ I would not be able to rely on what was available (I live in New England SSOO cold winter mornings/nights).