Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2013 Fortwo Passion
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I recently bought a Smart Fortwo Passion 2013 (I bought it at a little over 39k miles and just recently hit 40k) . I just noticed the other day two wrenches were flashing and it said -131 miles but only when I first start my car. There aren't any other lights that are popping up.
Since i'm new to this car I wasn't sure if I need to immediately go into a shop or not. The closest certified shop is over three hours away. My neighbor who is a mechanic said he's worked on them before. So I was just curious if I could go into a regular shop for the yearly check and what not. I just am very ahhh since I am new to this car and I would be heartbroken if anything were to happen.

·
Registered
882 Posts
So I recently bought a Smart Fortwo Passion 2013 (I bought it at a little over 39k miles and just recently hit 40k) . I just noticed the other day two wrenches were flashing and it said -131 miles but only when I first start my car. There aren't any other lights that are popping up.
Since i'm new to this car I wasn't sure if I need to immediately go into a shop or not. The closest certified shop is over three hours away. My neighbor who is a mechanic said he's worked on them before. So I was just curious if I could go into a regular shop for the yearly check and what not. I just am very ahhh since I am new to this car and I would be heartbroken if anything were to happen.
So just read up on how to reset SMART 451 service indicator wrenches, if you have not already. have an oil and filter change, and then change every 3,000 miles there after. that will give you time to look around and find a service shop of your choice that you are comfortable with. Question ... Did you purchase you Smart from a private seller or a car dealer? A car dealer may be helpful in recommending a service shop for the time being.

·
Registered
7,666 Posts