Smart Car of America Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I’m new to my ‘08 Passion coupe. It has 31K miles on it, in very very nice shape. Never been driven in snow and previous owner (original owner) swore he had only driven it in the rain two or three times!
I put in a new set of spark plugs in this afternoon (the ones I pulled out looked nice, kind of beige, not burnt up). All the same.
I put iridium plugs in. Took it for a test drive. Ran stronger than with the older plugs that came out! I was encouraged!
My wife and I went to dinner (one mile from home) ran great! On our way home, as you accelerated, you would lose power. If you dropped it into neutral, you can get the motor to rev up. Put it back in gear, you couldn’t go faster than a mile or two an hour. Felt like a dirty fuel filter. But it would clear up then act up again! I put my simple scanner on the car and we got a P2178 code, “Bank 1 Too Rich”. This came on all of a sudden!
I don’t have a concrete story as to the history of this car. The original owner was told by his mechanic that the motor had seized and couldn’t be fixed so the owner sent it to the scrap yard! That’s where I purchased it from! I brought it home put a new battery in it and installed 3.7 qts of Mobil 1 and a new filter, re-set the transmission and started it up! I’ve put about 40 miles on it thus far. I don’t know where to start looking for problems. Anyone with any ideas?
Thank You,
Larry in East China MI.

·
Registered
8,334 Posts
Sounds like your car, went into it’s limp mode. Did you try clearing the code? How do you Reset the transmission? Time to take it to a smart dealership. It probably, needs complete look over. Since it was sent for scrape.

Good Luck.

·
Premium Member
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank You Smark!
That link was very informative!
It had the three bars of death, I followed the procedure I’ve found on this site.

·
Premium Member
69 Posts