Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As winter approaches I came to the realization that since I work in healthcare and am considered emergency personnel, I am in big trouble when I lose power this winter now that I only drive the Smart Pure Electric. I need to buy a generator as a backup to the grid for charging the mini beast. Generators are sold with wattage ratings and the car isn't.

What size genny is the smallest I can get away with using the 110v EVSE that came with the car? I'll use that as the baseline minimum spec when evaluating gennies. Bear in mind it is a 17 mile trip to the hospital where I can top off while I am there.

Cheers,
Jonathan

·
Registered
312 Posts
Let me first say that I am not too good at this electrical stuff so I hope someone will correct me if I am wrong.

Since the level 1 charger that comes with the car has two settings 8 amp (1kWh) and 12 amp (1.4kWh) I would think that a 1500-2000 watt generator would suffice. You can pick those up for roughly $200-300.

·
Registered
312 Posts
Personally if all you will have on it is less than 20 miles if and when the power goes out, and you can juice it up the next day at work, I would question if you really need it. Unless your power goes out often.

·
Registered
491 Posts
As winter approaches I came to the realization that since I work in healthcare and am considered emergency personnel, I am in big trouble when I lose power this winter now that I only drive the Smart Pure Electric. I need to buy a generator as a backup to the grid for charging the mini beast. Generators are sold with wattage ratings and the car isn't.

What size genny is the smallest I can get away with using the 110v EVSE that came with the car? I'll use that as the baseline minimum spec when evaluating gennies. Bear in mind it is a 17 mile trip to the hospital where I can top off while I am there.

Cheers,
Jonathan