Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
Newbie here, but I am looking for a cheap EV long time and found on kijiji (Canadian version of Craigslist ) someone is transferring his 2016 Smart ED and asking for $1000+buyer pays transfer fee

The car is only $180 per mo tax included and come with lease protection, 24mo left with 60000km left

It sounds like no brain deal but is there any catch on this? I have never done lease before... Anyone can point to me the right direction?

Thanks

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
MY08 cabrio MY09 cabrio Brabus MY15 ED
7,782 Posts
Asking for a $1,000 "kiss" +transfer fee sounds a little steep? If they are motivated, that should be negotiable.

What did they put down/what is the lease end residual if applicable? At lease end, is there a turn in fee?

Taking over the lease will require that your credit qualifies in the eyes of M-B. May want to call M-B Financial Services first?

Dunno how off lease pricing is holding up for ED up North but auction/resale prices stateside are soft.

·
Registered
292 Posts
Not sure where you are in Canada, we're in Toronto.

If its similar to the lease we have on our ED the guy is probably about 15 months into the lease. Check the total kilometres. A total of 60000 km (~20k / yr) allowance for the lease is about right for the lease payment. You may also want to check the residual and definitely get a copy of the lease agreement before you go forward.

We love our Smart and drive it all the time. Saves us about 2000 /yr on gas for our Mazda. Which gets a run every two weeks to keep it healthy.

Some things to consider:
  • Battery (range) will go from 120km now to about 85 km in winter.
  • I've seen 56 km range estimate at -28C with modest use of the cabin heater.
  • The cabin heater is an awful power drain, but the seat heaters are great.