Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm an MBA student at the USC Marshall School of Business. I'm currently working on a class project about the feasibility of marketing a lightweight trailer to pull with the SMART. The trailer would be able to haul small boats, kayaks, canoes, bicycles, and small equipment (up to 700 lbs).

To help the project, would you be willing to take short (<5 min) survey?
https://usc.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_1HQzqcsSFh8zcd6

I know there are a few similar products on the market, but I haven't seem one designed just for SMART. If you know of any companies selling this product, please send me the links :)

Also, if you have thoughts about this that didn't come through on the survey, please post them as a reply to this thread.

Thanks for your time! I appreciate it.

·
Registered
2,188 Posts
Posted mine as well. I suggested an alternative project would be to develop a towable and efficient gas-powered generator for use with the smart ED. This would turn the ED into an extended range electric vehicle like the Chevy Volt, but it would have the added benefit of not having to tow the generator when the ED is being driven around town. It would do a lot to alleviate "range anxiety" with EVs like the smart ED.

The concept was proven by Allan Cocconi (AC Propulsion):

·
Registered
3,398 Posts
AC propulsion also proved that the concept was horribly inefficient.
As I recall, with the genset running on the trailer, the average fuel economy worked out to around 20MPG or less. Better to rent an ICE (infernal combustion engine).

·
Registered
2,188 Posts
AC propulsion also proved that the concept was horribly inefficient.
As I recall, with the genset running on the trailer, the average fuel economy worked out to around 20MPG or less. Better to rent an ICE (infernal combustion engine).
Others quote 30-35 mpg for most cars; while not stellar, it's hardly horribly inefficient.