Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie, read a few posts here and googled a bit, I wanted to direct wire my dash cam to my 2008 Smart Fortwo, so I bought the following items from Amazon:
a.
Amazon.com: EDO Tech® Direct Mini USB Hardwire Car Charger Cable Kit for TomTom One 2nd 3Rd Edition XL Series, Magellan RoadMate Maestro Series, Mio Moov Navman Digiwalker, Navigon Primo GPS (no traffic receiver function): Cell Phones & Accessories

b.
Amazon.com: Littelfuse FHA200BP ATO Add-A-Circuit Kit: Automotive

c.
Amazon.com: Gardner Bender 20-143F 16-14 Gauge Blue Female Terminal Disconnects, 20-Pack: Home Improvement

Steps:
1. I connected two fuses 3 and 7.5 to the add-a-circuit kit, I believe the 7.5 one is for the dash cam (dark one in the tiny picture below, it's in the same "slot layer" of the cable).
2. I inserted the red wire into the metal tube under the blue plastic cover of the add-a-circuit kit, used a piler to sqeeuze the blue plastic cover, but it wasn't secured so took step 3:
3. I used electric tape to make sure the red wire and blue plastic cover are connected.
4. I put the female terminal disconnect on one fuse blade.
5. I connect the fuse blade to R1/36 (and tried R2/37 later), I didn't connect the black wire to the ground bolt though (but I don't think this is the reason...)
6. I connected the mini USB to the dash cam and started the car.
7. The cam doesn't turn on.

I had no background in electric or auto DIY, this task seemed easy to me that's why I did it. Great setback! :(

Please help! Thank you.

·
Registered
1,005 Posts
Great question. Welcome to the forum.

I just run a G1W cam to the cigarette lighter and works for me. I know you will find everything you want to do on SCOA. Good idea to always have a car cam. Interested in hearing ideas or viewing old SCOA links.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5