Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Smart cars with the purchase of a 450 Smart CDI (2006). If we in the land of the "free" were allowed to I would have had one since 2006. But that is another story.
We have had several diesels since the 80's but this is definitely the smallest road going one. Presently we have a '94 Ram , a 2003 New Beetle TDI , a 2005 Jeep Liberty CDI , a 2000 Sterling Dump truck with a Detroit 60 engine, a 2008 International VT365 Motorhome , and a diesel tractor and a diesel lawnmower.
The Beetle will go away with the purchase of the Smart.
It is great to finally be able to own one. My wife will be the primary driver and can't wait. We will have a lot to learn, especially in the parts and maintenance end with diesels being "gray market". I hope to learn lots here and appreciate the prior experience and knowledge that is represented here!

·
Registered
4,505 Posts
Welcome to cdi ownership, there are 10,000 of us in Canada (and about 62 or so in the USA). If you could send me a PM, there is something I would like to ask you.

Also, the Canadian forum at Club smart car is full of technical tips for this particular model, so I would recommend joining there!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the welcome! I still am waiting for the CDI to ship to us from the East Coast. The weather and holidays have slowed everything down. Whats a few weeks when we have wanted one for 6 years.....:cool:

·
Registered
5,191 Posts
Thanks for the welcome! I still am waiting for the CDI to ship to us from the East Coast. The weather and holidays have slowed everything down. Whats a few weeks when we have wanted one for 6 years.....:cool:
Did you buy it from smartsellerrob on Ebay?

·
Registered
5 Posts
CDI in the USA

I am new here also, from RI. (Hello, Julia.) I am still looking and investigating. How did you get a CDI accepted for emissions in the US?