Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

My name is Mike, and I'm a Network Engineer.... I'm starting a new job next week for a large IT consulting firm here in Little Rock, which will require me to drive all over the city for many clients. So yes - mostly just city driving...

Currently, I have a 2-seater limited edition Spyder convertible which is costly to operate and NOT practical at all! My other vehicle is a 4-door GMC full-size truck which again is VERY impractical for driving all over the city and sucks up fuel like water.

So - then I fell in love with the Smart. I found the perfect one too - bright red with silver trim, a 2013, loaded with every option under the sun (gps, power everything) so I am really looking forward to it!

I had to do everything long distance - purchasing, signing docs, everything - via email. The Smart dealer made it pretty easy and they were exceptionally friendly and pleasant. The dealer is located near St. Louis, about a 6-hour drive from here.

Well - I finished the purchase and I am getting ready to go for a weekend overnight trip to pick up this car. I figured I would go up with the truck, and rent a uHaul flat bed car hauler, and bring it back that way.

HERE IS THE PANIC - after arranging all of this, I finally had a light bulb go off in my head! SERVICE!!! Wow - I can't believe I overlooked this. WHERE would I get this car serviced under warranty if anything happened!

So, I started calling around and can't find service ANYWHERE - and the closest dealer that will service it is in Tulsa, Oklahoma about 4.5 hours away!!!!

Wow - I hope someone out there has addressed this issue. I am very excited about my new Smart, but I am stressing about it now too. Any insight or ideas I can get would be very much appreciated!

Thanks very much, and I hope you're all having a great day!

Mike

·
Registered
624 Posts
Hello everyone!