Smart Car of America Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
875 Posts
I am repulsed by those doors too but hey, it's not my car and if that makes some one feel good about their car I think the should go for it.

·
Registered
196 Posts
I'll say it. I'm a total design snob.. I work in the industry and have always idealized cars with o-r-i-g-i-n-a-l wheels/upholstery/paint etc..

BUT- I also think anyone should be able to do what EVER they want to their car without our judgement. Inarguably, cars with mods such as an opalescent painted, scissor-door smart with freaky wheels make the drive that much more fun. Bring it on. Additionally, one could argue that a smart with well-engineered scissor doors becomes the ultimate parking vehicle. The wingspan of the standard doors creates a bigger foot print -limiting the best spaces.

·
Registered
46 Posts
From a practical point of view: Lambo doors would make a car that can park in tight places able to park in even tighter places.

·
Registered
131 Posts
Not your father’s Lamborghini?

All “man that’s lame” aside, lambo door mods do have some functional value. In areas like DT Seattle where compact parking looks more like motorcycle parking, the smart’s large doors do not have much space to open. When the parallel parking lane is less than 8 ft wide, the lambo mod keeps the door from entering the lane of traffic. Although some may feel this isn’t a good look for the smart, I could see some use for it. And yes, I actually do like the look. Keep in mind this is a European look stolen by Japanese car customizers.