Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just doing a little research on the California Vehicle Lemon Law and wondering if anyone here has had to Lemon Law a car (and been successful). Curious about what the first steps should be, is a lawyer needed, etc.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,860 Posts
I have no Cali experience but have been an expert witness in Texas arbitration

Read your warranty very carefully (I have not seen it yet) read the MB arbitration sections

Log on to your state attorney General's or State DoT web site and read the current Lemon Law descriptions

Document every thing

Make all demands on the dealer in writing (get complete copies of work orders with your customer complaint and their resolution attempts)

You must notify regional people for assistance
You must notify manufacture for assistance
You must have XXX number of attempts to correct THE SAME PROBLEM
(XXX determined by state)

They (they dealer) are not required to return all your money
You will not get back taxes you paid to the state
They are not required to offer you a NEW vehicle
Most dealers will "Buy Back" (at book value) to escape arbitration costs in many states
If it goes to arbitration you will incur costs

Lemon Law is (generally) NOT a good deal for a customer if the problem can be corrected to some reasonable use or original functionality

·
Registered
285 Posts
Ever stand next to an ant hill and start to itch?

I pick up my Passion Coupe on 5/08/08 with $6000.00 in options and counting. This email thread has made me feel nervous.

·
Super Moderator
29,030 Posts
I pick up my Passion Coupe on 5/08/08 with $6000.00 in options and counting. This email thread has made me feel nervous.
I'm sorry, but I have to ask - $6K in options? Gold plated shifter? Diamond studded brake pedal? I'm just at a loss as to how any amount of options could add up to six thousand dollars. :)

·
Registered
198 Posts