Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Just received the new hubcaps for my stock Pure wheels! Next step is to have the wheels powder coated yellow...

I have no experience with this type of hubcap. It is attached securely in the channel but has some play. Does not seem to make noise unless you bang on them. Any ideas about making them snug would be apprecieated.

·
Registered
562 Posts
Those are sweet! Where did you get steel wheels for the Smart? I want to get a set and put snows on them... and those covers are awesome!

oh... looking at the photo a bit more... looks like steel caps on the stock aluminum wheels... still looks sweet! :)

·
Registered
193 Posts
One time I had loose hubcaps and for a cheap easy fix I placed some balled up newspaper under the hubcaps to put some pressure outward and that fixed the problem.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
One time I had loose hubcaps and for a cheap easy fix I placed some balled up newspaper under the hubcaps to put some pressure outward and that fixed the problem.
Great idea! I bet the right size toy ball would also do the trick. I will try that!

·
Banned
4,244 Posts
The Pure stock wheels are steel. They look better bare than with the original hupcaps, IMO.

These however are brilliant!

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
The Pure stock wheels are steel. They look better bare than with the original hupcaps, IMO.

These however are brilliant!

Thanks

I am now going to powder coat the steels to match the car. It will show a nice 1" yellow ring between the tires and the chrome.

This is a cheap mod for steel wheels at $70 for a set of 4

Full Moon Style Wheel Covers

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #12 (Edited)