Smart Car of America Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I have been using this car (2008 smart fortwo)for 2 years now with no problems (except for my headlights bulb always burning within a few months)

IN the last week my car is not acting too well. Basically one cold morning I started the car, put it in reverse, ....it indicated it was in reverse, but the engine just revved up with no motion. Put it in Drive, it indicated Drive, and no motion forward, ....the engine just revved up again. As I am in quebec (-20 sometimes) I thought ok...its cold I'll wait till it warms up. TO no avail. I shut it off and retried. didnt work.
Shut it off, put it in Park, and a couple hours later,(in the afternoon, as it was in the sun) it operated normally. It worked as if nothing had happened in the morning.:shrug:
Then it worked yesterday (wasnt too cold) BUT I saw the motor light was on in the dash...
TODAY its -30., and it happened again.
Tried a trick I saw on internet (brake on, going through teh speeds slowly up and down to resinc I think they call it) but it didnt work. Now this afternoon as it is sunny I thought ok, it will work...
NOOOO it wont even start now.:crying: NO click no starting sounds. I turn the switch on and it wont start but radio, heater they work....

HELP me, cant afford an expensive repair( I bet you know if I drivea 2008 car!). Willing to try to do things to fix it as I know mercedes in my area will come up with $$$ bills (they are well known for this!). I am no mechanic but with pictures I cant see why I cant try it.

I heard on youtube of a brake fuse/swithc that might do that???But I dont know where it is.
THen I heard of clutch actuator...at -30 I dont think I can try to do that (and maybe not as first solution)... Could it be just low on oil? (as there is no dipstick I didnt check...was going to try to do transmission oil change on my own this spring...)