Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good evening to all! I am new to this so I hope my manners are correct! I need some assistance and am at my wits end. Here goes...
I live in LR. My 86 year old mother wanted a Smart car so I found a 2008 Cabriolet with only 8700 miles in Fayetteville. I took her up there so she could make a trade and purchase. That was Aug 2012. By Jan 2013 and less than 2000 additional miles it started going into limp mode. Local place pulled codes and one was battery so I replaced that. After very little driving and continuous limp mode problems I finally had it towed to Tulsa at a cost of $600. It had a code of P0914 so they replaced the gear shifter (twice) cost of another $600. At the end of the week my husband and I went to get it. That was on April 19. By the following Monday it was back into limp mode. Towed to local place. Their research says it is the gear shift motor and Tulsa told me that could be a problem also when I was there. Local place will replace motor but is concerned it requires "coding" and they can't do that. I really don't want to spend another $600 having it towed to Tulsa. Can anyone give me advice? Oh and yes, it had the flash update in 2011 according to Tulsa.

·
Registered
3,455 Posts
You should get a refund for the gear shifter, seeing as the diagnoses was wrong the first time...!!!
You should not have to pay for their stupidly...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
On my paperwork for the gear shifter (Tulsa said this also) it says "used SDS to clear DTC & perform trans/shifter teach in". Is that something that only a Smart Center can do? I thought I had seen posts of DIY owners.

·
Premium Member
5,763 Posts
Transmission Teach-in
(paraphrased) (For the complete version, see page 87 of your manual.)

P. 87 of my 2009 smart 451 manual states the following:

Emergency Operation (limp-home mode)