Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello :) I am new to the whole Smart world. Sorry if this question has been asked and answered over and over and over ;)

How often does a person get the chance to bring home an "Orphan"? Is it a common thing to have one sitting on the lot waiting for someone to buy it?

My husband and I are going to our nearest Smart dealer on Friday to check them out. I am REALLY excited to drive one!!!! However, I HATE waiting for...well anything ;) Hoping there's just one waiting for a home.

Thanks for any feedback :D

·
Ex Admin/mod.
9,491 Posts
Well, there are three models available, yes three:
pure
passion
patience :)

The last one usually is "custom made to order" through the regular process. The other two can be available at random if you're lucky to find an "orphan" (fallout in smart's lingo). The less finicky you're about color, options (sometimes expensive add-ons) and model, the better your chances... Getting to know your dealer well ;) helps too.

·
Registered
545 Posts
Yes, yes... patience is a virtue;)

It's gonna be cool to actually see one up close :)
They are even cooler to drive... :D

BTW - Some dealers have orphans ready to buy, the dealer here in SE VA has a waiting list for the orphans 300 deep... I understand the wait is well over a year for those that newly pay the $99, maybe even longer as the DDE isn't even giving them a date yet.

Have fun! The test drive will make you fall in love!:p

·
Registered
401 Posts
Go to the smartcenter in Sugarland. Put down a $500 deposit and get on their orphan list. Depending on how picky you are, you could have a car in four weeks or less. Others have done it. Good luck!

·
Registered
117 Posts