Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having some trouble and thought I'd query the hive mind. I just got my used 2013 Smart ED about a month ago, but for the last week or two, it's been SUPER slow to charge. From almost empty, 12hrs on on the L1 gets me to 40%. I've got it on an L2 right now, and it's been almost 8 hours and still not full. (I'll update when I get downstairs to say what the SoC is at after 8 hrs...) Since I'm new to all of this, I'm not quite sure how much juice the car is supposed to be pulling from the charger. The ChargePoint L2 at my office says something about "6.6kw per plug". Does the heat have anything to do with this? (It's 107F right now)

I've attached a screenshot of the ChargePoint chart. Is this normal? Is it a problem with the internal charger? Or is it (god forbid...) the batteries?

Thanks in advance!

·
Super Moderator
1,568 Posts
What does your cluster tell you about how long it will take to charge it when you plug it in? Also you do know that the charger that comes with the car defaults to the VERY slow charge rate when it is first plugged in. You have to press the button on the unit to get all four LED's to light up to give you the faster charge. Oh, I see you do know about L1 and L2.

Len
2014 EV Coupe 15,500 miles
2014 EV Cabriolet 6,000 miles

·
Premium Member
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What does your cluster tell you about how long it will take to charge it when you plug it in?
I'll check tonight and let you know. I believe last night it said "18H" when I plugged it in to the charger that came with the car. Can't remember if I hit the "turbo" button or not.

·
Super Moderator
1,568 Posts
On mine the cluster number to a full charge is a little pessimistic. When it tells me that it is 15 hours to a full charge, it's usually done an hour or two before that.

Len

·
Super Moderator
1,568 Posts
That's normal for my two. I just assumed it was normal for all?

Len