Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone.. New owner to a Smart Passion with 5speed manual.

I'm actually surprised at the power for such a small car that it is. Probably because it's also a lot lighter, so that helps a lot.

One strange thing I found is that when I go into reverse, the notch to get in is extremely short. Is that normal? Almost seems like it's not even in and i think i've had it pop out once while in reverse. I've been driving manual transmissionc cars for 20 years, and i was really surprised on how short that notch is to get into reverse. Normally, on other manual cars that i've driven, it's either longer, or your actually feel the gear when getting into reverse.

What cell phone holders are you guys using? I dont want to use the oem one because it just blocks all the controls.

Has anyone installed a rear view camera?

I plan on putting some snow tires on in the winter (nyc), but need to turn off traction control. From what I've seen, the easiest way is to buy the module to stick into your obd2 port. What's the best place to buy that?

Arm Rest. I think I'm going to order the arm rest from Madness. It's annoying not to have one.

Has anyone installed/retrofitted LED or HID lights to the Smart car?

Power/performance - Is madness the way to go? They seem very reputable. Do they have holiday sales I should wait for?

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
11,309 Posts
Welcome!
I assume you are working with a new 453 model by the manual trans question.. I would be cautious about turning off the traction control as with a short wheelbase car, it is quite easy to be spun around before you realize it.

Smart Maddness is a great resource for any aftermarket goodies like arm rests, etc. You can certainly add a rear view camera, but since there isn't much car back there, it isn't really needed (in my opinion)

·
Banned
844 Posts