Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
471 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for an opinion from the Smart crowd. I bought this 2013 ED used. Got a great deal due to 3 of the rims being lightly bent. Looking at these 6 spoke Genius rims. I know it's an ED but I'd still like something a little sportier looking. Also looking for something easier to keep clean than the factory rims allow. Thoughts?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,938 Posts
Were I you, I'd first want to know if any underlying damage was done bending three wheels. Car doesn't weigh enough to do that at low speed. Or it was one helluva hole. Might wanna check....,,

·
Registered
471 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Had it down to the Smart Center for the 20k checkup. They had it on the rack and gave it a clean bill of health. I've been driving it daily for a few months. So nothing has popped up.

·
Registered
832 Posts
I've bent a couple factory rims on potholes already. With the low aspect tires it doesn't take much. Wish there were 14" wheels so I could use thicker tires!

I got whatever was cheapest on TireRack. Under $100 each for the front (those are the ones that bend first!) Don't know or care what brand they were.

EDIT: why replace them if the bend is so slight that it hasn't been a problem for the last few months? Just keep driving until they get bent enough to throw them out (i.e. can't balance anymore or not holding air).

·
Premium Member
MY08 cabrio MY09 cabrio Brabus MY15 ED
7,756 Posts
POTHOLES @ speed are not your friend.

Show me a smart without at least one bent rim and I'll show you an owner who never takes it off the sidewalk. Buying a lease return/auction smart may also show more abuse as often they are treated like a "rental car."

Sidebar - changing to aftermarket rims takes away some of the safety engineered into the smart as you are eliminating the break away rims in an accident.

·
Registered
471 Posts
Discussion Starter #6