Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a relative newbie to this forum. I noticed that motorcycles are frequently mentioned in the posts on this forum. I've been riding motorcycles for many years. I find many similarities between Smart cars and motorcycles. Both are small and extremely maneuverable. Both are ignored or targeted by our fellow drivers. A three cylinder dual overhead cam high compression, four valves per cylinder engine develops adequate horsepower for either vehicle. The transmission and engine work together with a similar shifting pattern, especially when driving the Smart in manual mode. Service and maintenance procedures are similar, though I don't know any dedicated motorcycle rider who would ride 10000 miles between oil changes. Most of us are driving around without a spare tire. There are many other similarities but I think you get the point.

·
Registered
2,653 Posts
In past encounters I have found Bike riders are very interested in our smarts...
I told one biker at OTD a few years back when he asked "whats the best thing about the smart?' and I told him that "I won't get wet when riding in the rain and I when I come to a stop I don't have to put my feet down to prevent falling over." He gave me a big hand shake and said "enjoy the ride"...

·
Registered
386 Posts
I've been riding motorcycles for many years. I find many similarities between Smart cars and motorcycles. Both are small and extremely maneuverable. Both are ignored or targeted by our fellow drivers.
No kidding about being ignored by fellow drivers, I got broadsided on my MC pulling into the parking lot where I worked. I was lucky in that I had a crash bar installed so instead of pinning my ankle/leg against the motor it took the brunt of the impact which put the bike on it's side and me on my butt with a bruised elbow.