Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new here not sure if this is the right place to post this I've been riding a motorcycle for the past 4 years as my only transportation but after a accident I had on a bike a year ago I have some family members trying to get me to buy a car but I find cars always need something and cost a lot in up keep and every car I've seen is bigger then I need.

Then I found the smart car it's perfect size but it still going to cost more to maintain then my bike but I found that I can put a motorcycle engine in the car witch I like I can still have the sound of a motorcycle and safe at the same time.

My question is would a GSXR 600cc engine have enough power for driving in the city and the odd trip on the highway?

I know a lot of engine swaps are with the GSXR 1000cc engine but I would like something that's not over powered or under powered but has the right amount of power with plenty of power to get it to go if I need it.

·
Registered
912 Posts
Folks have put Hayabusa engines in these. If a bigger engine fits, a smaller engine will fit.

The Gixxer engine has around 100 hp (realistically). The smart's engine has 70 hp but more torque. In my opinion, that isn't enough difference to make it worthwhile, and when moving a heavier (than a motorcycle) vehicle, the lack of low end torque will prove tiresome.

I do not think a motorcycle engine swap is a good idea for something that you will be driving day in and day out.
- No (real) reverse gear ...
- No provision for comfort factors: air conditioning, cruise control, etc.
- Clutch and gearshift operation is likely to be awkward
- No interface with the vehicle's ABS and stability-control systems
- While the original Mitsubishi engine does not have a great reputation for long term durability ... I think it's going to be, on average, longer-lived than a motorcycle engine in this application.