Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am seriously thinking about getting a smart car, but I wanted to know if it would be "smart" to have as an only vehicle. I live in a suburb of st louis (st charles) and I travel on the highway frequently. I am a musician, but I usually only need my guitar a small amp and few other things ( which I know will fit). also, how will it do in snow, rain, ice? i am in missouri and weather does it all. i just want to make sure it will be wise before i make the decision. any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks!!!!

ryan jordan:D

·
Registered
3,044 Posts
Do you live 300 miles from the nearest dealer and have six children probably not. It is a full purpose car and will haul you a friend and a lot of your stuff to your destination. It does 99% of what I need and would work as my only car if my wife would stop taking it all the time.
karl

·
Ex Admin/mod.
9,491 Posts
In a nutshell: should an emergency arise, do you have access to an alternative mean of transportation? (Rental, friend, taxi... just in case your car is not suitable/available for a specific requirement).

·
Registered
804 Posts
I am the proud owner of a Smart Car, and as much as I love my car I wouldn't want it for my only car. In fact it's my 3rd car, And maybe it's me but I'm very protective of my Smart Car, As soon as it starts to rain here in the Vegas Valley I plan on parking my Smart in the garage and start driving another car. Thats just me I know some people may say I'm nuts but I am as big of a Smart Car Fan as anyone and probably bigger than most, As much as I love my little car I wouldn't recomend it to anyone as their only car just because of its size.