Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
968 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I will be leaving from San Diego, CA on Sunday morning for Denver. I will join up with the Socal smarties near Barstow.
I am an active ham radio operator and will be transmitting my location on:
APRS.fi
I will be using one system which automatically transmits every two minutes using the name - smart . When you bring up the APRS.fi site, you will see a search box in the top right of the screen. Type smart in the box and click "search". There should come up three smarts. The second and third ones are not in the United Staes. I should be the top one. I did the same thing back when I drove to Kansas City and posted pictures here of my days travels. This will be a great way to track the SoCal smarties caravan across CA, NV, AZ, UT and CO. If you click on the car symbol, it will bring up how fast I am going, altitude and heading.
The second system is a newer technology. Dstar radio. It also transmits my location, but only if I key the microphone. That will also show up on APRS.fi, but under KE6VUP-6. Dstar lets you connect repeaters with the internet and talk to a user literally anywhere in the world.
There are a lot more regular repeaters (smart) than the Dstar system (KE6Vup-6) has. I have a friend who is going to be following me along and trying to talk to me as I go along. Anyone who is familiar with Dstar and has a ham radio license and a Dstar radio (or a DV dongle, don't ask why it is named that) can try can try to call me too.
I will be easy to spot as there are two 3' tall antennas on the car. Kind of hard to have a ground plane (ham radio term - helps with reaching longer distances) with a convertible soft top, but it works...okay.:wink:

·
Registered
968 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
The madness that is Vegas. Traffic started around Baker - 15 south - 4th of July weekend. We are northbound, no problem. And the traffic is backed up to Jean, NV from Primm.